Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Teaching and Learning Resources at the Research Libraries: Finding and Borrowing Materials

This guide pulls together resources available to educators through The New York Public Library Research Libraries

Research Collections

The Research collections of The New York Public Library are held at four Research Centers, each with a different thematic focus. 

Stephen A. Schwarzman BuildingNew York Public Library for the Performing ArtsSchomburg Center for Research in Black CultureScience, Industry and Business Library

The ReCAP Shared Collection

Use the Library's new Shared Collection Catalog to find and request physical and digital delivery of items from NYPL Research Libraries, Columbia University Libraries and Princeton University Libraries. Read more about the ReCAP Shared Collection here.

Research Catalog

Most collections may be found through the NYPL Research Catalog. Note that Advanced Search will yield more refined results.

Research Catalog

Archives Portal

Archives Portal

NYPL Archives Portal

On this site, you can search The New York Public Library's vast holdings, initiate a research visit, submit a query to an archivist, and access digitized material.  Look for the  image to indicate that portions of the collection have been digitized. These materials are free to view and use, even without an NYPL library card.

 

Prints and Photographs

Search the catalog of prints and photographs held within the Wallach Division.

Digital Collections

Available without a Library card:

The New York Public Library Digital Collections provide access to over 700,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more