Skip to Main Content

Korean Collections at The New York Public Library: About

This guide surveys Korean prints and manuscripts from the 14th century to the early 20th century at The New York Public Library. Guide by Hee-Gwone Yoo.

About the Korean Collection

The New York Public Library holds a sumptuous array of rare Korean prints and manuscripts from the 14th century to the early 20th century. This guide provides a survey of these items in hopes of increasing scholars, artists, and students' awareness of these collections. This survey of rare Korean artifacts will serve as a benefit to researchers and scholars in this field, as the provenance of many of these rare Korean prints and manuscripts is still unknown due to the absence of their documentation. In addition to prints and manuscripts, this guide will also highlight collections of photographs, maps, and other printed texts.

Accessibility for Print Disabilities

For researchers with print disabilities, the Library has resources and services available upon request. The following services are available:

Digitization of Select Research Materials

Researchers who are homebound or have a print disability or visual impairment can explore many of our research collections online and request digitization of specific items of interest. To request the digitization service, email accessibility@nypl.org. Please note that you must be a patron of the Andrew Heiskell Library. This digitization service only includes material belonging to the research collections and does not apply to branch/circulating collections. 

Screen Readers and Enlargers 

Every public PC at all New York Public Library locations is equipped with JAWS, ZoomText, and Fusion softwares. 

Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library

The Andrew Heiskell Library offers popular reading materials in accessible audio and braille formats, as well as free membership to the Bookshare database of over one million accessible texts. It also offers individual coaching and a large variety of group workshops on topics related to accessible technology. Check the listings on our website, call 212-206-5400, or email talkingbooks@nypl.org for details. It also hosts many networking groups, resource fairs, writing workshops, accessible art workshops, book clubs, and other events. All are listed in the quarterly newsletter, available by email, website (text or audio), or over the phone.

For more information, see the Accessibility at NYPL page. 

Reference Librarians