Use the 
icon to get a shareable link to the database.
Check out our Free Internet Resources List for other freely available online resources.
Having issues connecting to or using these resources?
Guides by Subject
The most frequently-used databases
This article database includes full-text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals covering topics in the areas of current events, general sciences and technology, social sciences, arts, and humanities. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Access billions of names in thousands of genealogical databases including Census and Vital Records, birth, marriage and death notices, the Social Security Death Index, Passenger lists and naturalizations, Military and Holocaust Records, City Directories, New York Emigrant Savings Bank records, and African American and Native American Records. Library version of Ancestry.com.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Provides access to over 30 databases with citations, abstracts and selected full-text. Includes Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete and other subject-specific resources. Specific databases available through EBSCOhost are listed at the EBSCOhost site and in this directory. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Access over 100 popular magazines, including Bon Appetit, Sports Illustrated, Time, and People, through this digital platform. Send issues to the app (available in the Apple App Store and Google Play) for offline reading. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) is an online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including texts related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of JSTOR. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
The entire run of the New Yorker, in full text and full color, from 1925-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Newspapers.com is the largest online newspaper archive consisting of 300+ million pages of historical newspapers from 11,100+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond, with a special focus on full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers. The collection includes a broad range of dates, mostly covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of ProQuest and its partner Newspapers.com. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Provides access to current newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes over 2,000 U.S. and international titles. Formerly called PressDisplay. Registering as a user with the site is optional and allows for personalized, saved settings. Patrons should consult PressReader's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy before registering. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals and top quality book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Searchable full-text and page images of all ProQuest Historical Newspaper databases, which include titles related to New York, Chicago, Atlanta, Baltimore, Los Angeles, Washington, D.C., the American Jewish Newspaper Series, and the United Kingdom. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Provides articles from periodicals covering arts, business, children, education, health, humanities, law, multicultural studies, sciences, social sciences, and general interest. Full text is available for nearly two-thirds of its titles. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Check out our new databases!
Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Includes sample business plans, how-to guides, articles, and more.
Search a range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.
Access a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms and resources across the most popular legal areas.
Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference materials on a range of topics. Best for middle- and high-school students.
Search authoritative periodical content covering topics like organizational dynamics, adult learning, and more.
IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and is a resource for scholarly literature on Western art. It retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field. The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.
Search current and archived issues of the New York Post with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles, and content only published online. Please see below for the coverage available for each type of content.
Full-Text Articles: 1999-Present
Full-Color Newspaper Pages: 2020-Present
Online-Only Content: 2010-Present
Orbis M&A contains information on mergers and acquisitions, IPO, private equity, and venture capital deals and rumors. Orbis M&A is a new version of the Zephyr database. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Pixton is a digital comic creation website for kids and teens. No drawing skills are required—just select from preset characters and backgrounds from a variety of pop culture, literary, scientific, and historical themes. Personalize the character appearances and costumes, choose poses and facial expressions, and write dialogue to tell a story. Comics are saved automatically to a user’s account and can be easily shared or printed from the Pixton site.
Patrons will need a library card to sign in through the NYPL website and access their NYPL Pixton account.
Produced by the Répertoire International de la Presse Musicale (RIPM), this resource includes articles, reviews, illustrations, and advertisements from jazz publications spanning the early 20th century to the early 21st century.
Search for a title here: Online journals, magazines, and books.
Below you'll find a few of our guides with helpful information about e-resources. View all of our guides on the Research Guides home page.