Skip to main content

Theatre Research from Remote Locations: About

This guide will help you continue your research at the Billy Rose Theatre Division while you're practicing Social Distancing and accessing the Library from home or a device wherever you may be.

Virtual Reference Consultations

We are now accepting appointments for consultations via Google Meet.  Researchers may schedule an appointment by emailing us at theatre@nypl.org or by using this form: https://www.nypl.org/ask-nypl/make-appointment-research.

Remote Researching during the NYPL Closure

As part of New York City's reopening, the New York Public Library is continuing the careful, phased process of returning limited service to its physical locations after temporarily closing due to the outbreak of COVID-19. Although the Library for the Performing Arts remains closed to the public, we now have limited staff onsite with access to our physical collections. We are working to help with your research to the best of our abilities.

The Theatre Division's circulating branch collection can now be requested through the NYPL online catalog for pick-up at any of NYPL's 50 Grab-and-Go libraries. For more information about how to request these materials, please visit https://www.nypl.org/about/grab-and-go.

The NYPL has over 800 databases available at https://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases - some are always available from outside the Library, and some have been opened up to allow access during this unusual time.

This guide is designed to help you do Theatre, Film and Television research remotely using NYPL resources and other resources available on the Internet. 

We've included

  • tabs for Theatre and Film databases that may be useful
  • a tab for General databases that you might not have considered would be helpful
  • a tab for E-books and audiobooks that may be borrowed from the library with a NYPL card

Please note: during this period, we have arranged for remote access to a large number of our databases that are ordinarily only available within the Library's branches. Those that are normally available only within the Library are designated by an icon of the Library Lion, those that are always available from home have a small blue house next to them. The icons may not have changed to reflect the remote availability, so if you see a resource that seems useful, it's worth trying regardless of the icon.

As always, the Theatre Division reference staff are available via email. Contact us at theatre@nypl.org


You may be asked to enter a library card to access a site or borrow a book.

If you live in NY State & don't have a NYPL library card, you can apply for one and use it immediately!

During our period of closure, New York state residents are welcome to apply for a library card through the SimplyE app—and gain access to an array of digital resources, including e-books, audiobooks, databases, and more. When we reopen, new applicants can visit their local NYPL branch to obtain and validate their physical library card.

Reference Librarians

Billy Rose Theatre Division Reference Librarians's picture
Billy Rose Theatre Division Reference Librarians
Contact:
40 Lincoln Center Plaza (65th St and Columbus Ave)
Third Floor
New York, NY 10023
(212) 870-1639
Website