Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yiddish Research: Encyclopedias

Yiddish research guide covering general resources, article and books, folklore, genealogy, linguistics, literature, music and dance, oral history, theater, film, radio, translation and student resources.

Encyclopedias

Most of the following encyclopedias are freely available online, unless otherwise indicated.

 

Algemeyne entsiklopedye (1934-1966) אַלגעמיינע ענציקלאָפּעדיע 
V. 1-5: General subjects; 7 subsequent "Yidn" volumes with bibliographies and indexes. In Yiddish.
Some volumes online here.
 
Encyclopedia Judaica 
Comprehensive general encyclopedia for Jewish topics.  Available from home with your Library card and PIN.

 

Jewish Encyclopedia
1904 encyclopedia with strong Yiddish coverage. 

 

Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia.

International coverage of many Yiddish writers and actresses.

 

Jewish Women in America: an Historical Encyclopedia 
Includes American female Yiddish cultural figures. Full bibliographies. In print.

 

Jewish Women's Archive
Includes many Yiddish figures, such as actors and writers. 

 

ייִדישע פֿאָלקס־־ ־ענציקלאָפּעדיע: פֿאַר ייִדישע רעליגיע, געשיכטע, פֿילאָזאָפֿיע...און אַנדערע ענינים

Yidishe folḳs-entsiḳlopedye : far Yidishe religye, geshikhṭe, filozofye... un andere inyonim.
Ed.  Symcha Petrushka,. 1949. Jewish popular encyclopedia, in Yiddish.

 

The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe
Comprehensive encyclopedia.