Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yiddish Research: Online Books

Yiddish research guide covering general resources, article and books, folklore, genealogy, linguistics, literature, music and dance, oral history, theater, film, radio, translation and student resources.

Online Books

Here's where you can find Yiddish books and literature online.

 

The Edward Blank YIVO Vilna Online Collections 

Massive collection of digitized books and artifacts from YIVO's Vilna period.

 

Google Books 

Search by keyword. Some books available online. Searchable in Yiddish.

 

HathiTrust 

Includes digitized Yiddish books. Searchable in Yiddish.

 

HebrewBooks.org 

Includes some Yiddish books. Searchable in Yiddish.

 

Hertz Grosbard Project

Biography and audio recordings of the "word concert" artist performing Yiddish literary works.

 

Liderlikht / Candles of Song 
Yiddish poems about mothers, presented by Sheva Zucker in memory of her mother, Miriam Pearlman Zucker. In Yiddish, transliteration and English translation.

 

Literatura Jidisz (National Library of Poland)

232 Yiddish literary works including plays, stories, and novels.

 

Old Yiddish literature 
About 800 16th to early 20th century Yiddish books.

 

Poetry in Hell: Holocaust Poetry from the Yiddish 

Poems in Yiddish, with English translation, from the Emanuel Ringelblum Warsaw Ghetto archive.

 

refoyls yidish veb-bletl 

Short Yiddish texts - stories, poems, and other short items. Great for learners, reading groups or classes.

 

Di velt fun yidish
Text and audio of classic Yiddish literature and the Bible (Tanakh).

 

Yiddish Book Center 

11,000 searchable Yiddish books; also audio recordings of Yiddish writers, oral histories, and translations.

 

Yiddish Poetry 
Yiddish poetry, with translations in English, French, Polish and Hebrew, edited by Andrew Firestone.

 

YIVO Library Books 

Books from YIVO’s collection, including YIVO publications.