Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yiddish Research: Genealogy Websites

Yiddish research guide covering general resources, article and books, folklore, genealogy, linguistics, literature, music and dance, oral history, theater, film, radio, translation and student resources.

Genealogy Websites

Ackman and Ziff Family Genealogy Institute (Center for Jewish History)

Reference and genealogical resources for the Center’s comprehensive collections.

 

Ancestry Library Edition

Vital records: census, military, birth, death, and marriage records; include Holocaust collections.

 

Arolsen Archives: International Center on Nazi Persecution

Online archive and international inquiry center for victims of Nazi persecution.

 

Emanuel Ringelblum Jewish Historical Institute

Research institute for Polish Jewry, specializing in genealogy.

 

GenealogyIndexer.org

Free search engine for Central and Eastern European directories and yizkor books.

 

JewishGen.org 

Jewish genealogy site, with Holocaust database, yizkor book database and translations.

 

Jewish Heritage Center of Western Canada

Searchable, digitized archives including historical newspapers and oral histories.

 

Joint JDC Archives (American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee)

Extensive archival collections including documents and media, partially searchable by database.

 

Landsmanshaftn in New York: A Quick Online Guide

Guide to publications and archives of hometown associations in New York Public Library and beyond.

 

Mapping the Lives (Tracing the Past)

interactive database with street maps of the persecuted in Europe 1933–1945.

 

Virtual Shtetl / Virtualny Sztetl (POLIN Museum)

Illustrated site in Polish and English with data on historical Polish Jewish communities.

 

Yad Vashem - Central Database of Shoah Victims’ Names

Names and biographical details for Jews murdered by the Nazis and their accomplices.

 

Yizkor Books (New York Public Library, Yiddish Book Center)

700 Holocaust memorial books, largely in Hebrew and Yiddish. 85% are freely available online.