Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yiddish Research: Commercial Recordings

Yiddish research guide covering general resources, article and books, folklore, genealogy, linguistics, literature, music and dance, oral history, theater, film, radio, translation and student resources.

Commercial Recordings

For Online Listening

Dartmouth Jewish Sound Archive

Apply for a free research login to hear commercial and non-commercial recordings dating to the early 20th century.

 

Harry Orvomaa Collection of Jewish Recordings (Europeana)

200 digitized recordings of mostly Yiddish music from the U.S., Poland and France collected by a Finnish record producer.

 

Institut Européen des Musiques Juives (IEMJ)

Large historical and contemporary Jewish music archive in Paris, with some recordings available online.

 

Mayrent Collection of Yiddish Recordings, University of Wisconsin-Madison

9,000 digitized 78-rpm discs of Yiddish music from around the world.

 

National Jukebox Collection, Library of Congress

Early 20th century commercial audio recordings from the U.S.

 

National Library of Israel (Ha-Sifriyah ha-Olamit)

Comprehensive, international Jewish music collection, with some online content.

 

Recorded Sound Archive, Florida Atlantic University
Apply for a "Research Station" login for increased access to this substantial collection strong in Yiddish content.

 

Russian Records (Yuri Bernikov)

Historical recordings from Russia, including Yiddish vocal and instrumental music.

 

For Bibliographic Research

Catalog of Recorded Jewish Music, Robert and Molly Freedman Jewish Sound Archive, University of Pennsylvania
Search for recordings and printed music for songs, including by the first line of the song.

 

Milken Archive of Jewish Music 
Read biographies and articles on Yiddish musicians. The site's audio content, for free and for purchase, includes newer renditions of historical tunes.