Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yiddish Research: Archives

Yiddish research guide covering general resources, article and books, folklore, genealogy, linguistics, literature, music and dance, oral history, theater, film, radio, translation and student resources.

Archives

The following are major archival collections of Jewish music, including sheet music, sound recordings, manuscripts, and books. For online collections, see Commercial Recordings,  Field Recordings, and Sheet Music.

 

American Jewish Archives  - Judaica library and archives including music collections

 

Robert and Molly Freedman Jewish Sound Archive, UPenn -  Search 4,000+ Jewish recordings by author, title, keyword or the first line of the song.

 

Hebrew Union College -Substantial Judaica collection including sheet music. Some of this has been reproduced in Jane Peppler's American Yiddish penny songs by Morris Rund and others : the Hebrew Union College collection of Yiddish broadsides, 1895-1925.

 

Jewish Theological Seminary - Substantial collection of published and archival Jewish music.

 

National Library of Israel - Substantial Jewish music collection including published and archival materials; includes the "Yiddish Song Index"


New York Public Library -  800+ pieces of Jewish sheet music, plus manuscripts, song collections, and recordings. Browse call numbers *PVO and **P (Sheet Music) in the catalog.

 

YIVO Institute for Jewish Music - Library, Sound Archive and Music Archive - Substantial collection of recordings and printed materials, including huge archives; contact staff for help.