Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hebrew Language - Online Resources: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Hebrew/Hebrew dictionaries

- Ma’agarim - Historic Dictionary Project - by the Academy of the Hebrew Language - presents the use and meaning of words in various concordances and dictionaries, and its development from ancient times to the present.  Word search also presents terms that include the specific word.  It allows browsing for words or searching and limiting by style and subject.

- Wikimilon - includes acronyms, roots of verbs and words, and slang arranged by categories. It can be searched by specific words or by subjects. 

- Reverso Synonyms - provides Hebrew synonyms, examples and conjugation  to words and expressions.

Etymology dictionaries

- The analytic and synthetic etymology of the Hebrew language by Isaac Fried (2004). In Hebrew with examples (when pertains)  in Arabic, Greek, Latin, German, English and Russian. an extensive dictionary on a searchable PDF file by the Hebrew Etymology Project.

Hebrew-English - English-Hebrew dictionaries

- Morfix Dictionary a free online Hebrew-English and English-Hebrew Dictionary, free translation, with audio pronunciation, inflections, synonyms. Click here for more information about its features.

- Dict.com - Hebrew-English and English-Hebrew dictionary with Nikud (vowels). Includes 14,300 entries, 8,100 examples, 43,500 translations and related words, and a virtual keyboard. 

- Hebrew and English lexicon without points - published in 1799, it provides Hebrew and Chaldee words and grammar of the Old Testament.

- Maskilon III - menu driven Hebrew-English dictionary with and without nikud (vowels). Provides translation of words, terms, idioms, and abbreviations. 

- Maskilon IV - menu driven English-Hebrew dictionary with nikud (vowels). Equivalent of Maskilon III.  Provides translation of words, terms, idioms, and abbreviations.

- Reverso Dictionary - offers English-Hebrew and Hebrew-English dictionary containing commonly used words and expressions, along with thousands of English entries and their Hebrew translation. It provides a virtual keyboard. 

- Glosbe - Hebrew-English and English-Hebrew dictionary.  It translates words and phrases and expressions.  It also brings examples of related subjects. It provides a virtual keyboard.

Abbreviations and acronyms dictionaries

- Milon kitzurim ve-rashe tevot - searchable by keyword or by category. 

- Sefer rashe tevot - this scan of the book by Adolf Stern published in 1926, includes 16,000 abbreviations in sources of Judaism. 

- Reshe Tevot in Vikimilon - searchable by keyword or by its many subjects.

Idioms, proverbs, terms, and quotations

- Hebrew Proverbs - this site indicates the origin of the proverb, example how it is used, and synonyms.

- Hebrew Quotations - Wikitsitut - brings quotations in categories such as personalities, literary works, films, television shows.

- Dictionary of Terms by The Academy of Hebrew Language - it can be searched by keyword or browsed by subjects.

- Maskilon III - menu driven Idioms in Hebrew translated to English. 

- Maskilon IV - menu driven idioms in English translated to Hebrew.

Encyclopedias

- DAAT - Jewish Encyclopedia - can be searched by terms or browsed by subjects.

- Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day. With over 850 entries and approximately 400 contributing scholars.