Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Language and Literature Resources in the General Research Division: How to find Literary Criticism and Dissertations

Literary Criticism Databases

Artemis Literary Sources 

 Provides a combined search of Gale's literature collections: Contemporary Authors Online, Dictionary ofThe Oxford companion to American literature, NYPL Digital Gallery Image ID:1104286 Literary Biography, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Something About the Author Online, and Twayne's Authors Series, while providing the user workflow tools to analysis and navigate through information.       

East View E-Books 

Contemporary scholarly e-books in Russian, primarily focusing on history and literary criticism. Reference works and biographies are also included.

Literature Criticism Online 

Provides interviews, bibliographical and critical analysis of many authors and their works across eras and genres. Included are Gale's literary series of Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400–1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism and Children's Literature Review.

Literature Online 

Includes English and American poetry, drama and prose, biographies, bibliographies, as well as secondary sources. A great starter point for any researcher. 

Literature Resource Center

 A crucial resource in literary analysis, Literature Resource Center provides full-text literary criticism, biographical information and up-to-date reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, eras and from around the world. 

MLA International Bibliography (On-Site Access Only) 

Continuously updated by scholars in the field, MLA international Bibliography is a leading resource in modern languages and literature providing users with more than 2.8 million records. 

Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive

A historical archive that dates back to 1902, TLS includes entries for literatures biggest names while exploring fine writing and characterizing astute literary discoveries. 

Open Access Dissertations

Dissertations

Proquest Dissertations and Theses Citations for dissertations from 1861 to those accepted as recently as last semester. Abstracts from 1980 - present . Works from both North American graduate schools and European universities are included, and cover multiple cademic subjects. 

PQDT Open (Open Access Dissertations and Theses) A subset of Proquest Dissertations and Theses, open access dissertations and theses searchable by title, author, institution, and keyword.