Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Language and Literature Resources in the General Research Division: Author Databases and Biographies

Author and Biographies Databases

Artemis Literary Sources

A full-text database that includes the following: Contemporary Authors Online, Dictionary of Literary BiographyGale Virtual Reference LibraryLiterature Criticism OnlineLiterature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors Series, Something About the Author Online, and The Gale Literary Index. Making Artemis Literary Sources an essential resource that provides users with access to over 2 million essays, reviews, profiles and much more. Dante [Folder I], NYPL Digital Gallery - Image ID: 1220030

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes

Containing the largest open-access repository of digitized Spanish-language historical texts and literature from the Ibero-American world, Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes provides users with full text access to more than 400 classic and lesser known works of the most significant authors of Spanish-language texts. 

Contemporary Authors 

Biographical and bibliographical coverage of more than 120,000 writers with approximately 3,000 entries added each year, Contemporary Authors provides users with the most up-to-date references on active authors. 

Dante Project (Dartmouth) 

A searchable collection of texts including the Italian text of the Divine Comedy, containing more than seventy commentaries.

Dictionary of Literary Biography 

With a focus on American and British Literature, this 375 volume set includes bibliographical references and indexes dedicated to literature. It  contains more than 16,000 articles in a wide array of literary topics, genres and periods. This set is also available in the Rose Main Reading Room under the call number: *R-RMRR PN451 .D53 1978.

Electronic Enlightenment

Providing access to over 2,000 documents and 100 individualsElectronic Enlightenment covers over 200 years of correspondence between writers, across multiple subjects including: history, language and literature, law, etc.

Jane Austen Information Page

Contains the author's novels, unfinished works, juvenilia, and miscellaneous fragments. Includes: articles, images, maps, bibliographies, etc.

Literary Manuscripts (Onsite Access Only) 

Literary Manuscripts is drawn from the nineteenth century Victorian holdings of the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature at The New York Public Library, recognized as one of the finest literary research collections in the world. 

Loeb Classical Library (On-Site Access Only) 

Containing more than 520 English translated works of Greek and Latin texts, Loeb Classical Library is an essential resource of classical masterpieces and Anglo-American classical scholarship. Also available in print in the Rose Main Reading Room under call number: *R-RMRR PA3611

New York State Literary Website 

Literary maps of New York City and New York State. Click on author images and counties for biographies, literary organizations and sites, bookstores, and libraries.

Shakespeare, Editions and Adaptations

Contains eleven major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6. Also available in print in the Rose Main Reading Room under call number: *R-RMRR “PR"

Twayne's Authors Series

Contains the full text of frequently-used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors.

Tout Voltaire - A fully searchable database of all of Voltaire's writings, apart from his correspondence, (which is available in the Electronic Enlightenment database. See above). Sponsored by the Voltaire Foundation- a searchable collection of Voltaire's literary works, and the ARTFL Project- an extensive collection of French literary works and non-fiction.

William Blake Archive 

Provides access to major works of visual and literary art by William Blake. Updated Periodically.

World Shakespeare Bibliography (On-Site Access Only) 

A comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 to the present. Includes: articles, books, dissertations, editions, adaptations, etc.

Wright American Fiction 

Nearly comprehensive collection of novels published between 1851 to 1875 in the United States.