Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Language and Literature Resources in the General Research Division: Finding Articles

Find Articles via these Databases

African Journals Online (AJOL)

A database of African-published journals, covering multiple academic disciplines. Also includes full text of some articles.

American Periodicals (1740 - 1940) 

Contains over 1,800 magazines, journals, and newspapers published between 1740 and 1940.

Bibliography of American Literature

Encompassing more than 37,000 works, this bibliography covers the works of American writers from the time of the American Revolution to 1930. 

Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) 

Provides full text, digital images of books, pamphlets, broadsides and periodicals published in America from 1639 to1800.

Early American Imprints, Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) 

Provides full-text, digital images of books, pamphlets, broadsides, state papers and government publications published in America from 1801-1819. 

Humanities International Complete (On-site Access Only)  

Covers all data from the Humanities International Index (includes more than 2,200 journals and 2.8 million records). Provides full text for nearly 1,200 journals.

JSTOR 

A database of scholarly journals, providing a wide range of coverage in the humanities, arts and sciences. 

MLA International Bibliography (On-Site Access Only) 

Indexes to studies in world literature, including folklore, poetry, drama, fiction, film, and linguistics.

NewsVault 

Cross-searchable database of British historical news archives.

Periodicals Index Online

Includes citations for articles in the arts, humanities, and the social sciences from over 6,000 journals. 37 subject subject areas in multiple languages are covered. Updated annually. Dates included: 1665 to 1995.

PowerSearch (Gale) 

A one-stop search engine that searches across multiple Gale collections. Includes access to over 50 databases and multiple periodical and reference resources.

Project Muse 

Provides access to full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. 

ProQuest Research Library 

Provides articles from periodicals covering the humanities and social sciences, law and general interest. Full-text is available for nearly two-thirds of titles.