Futures, Options & Commodities
Commodities are things you can buy or sell -- physical goods such as oil, grain, or metals. Today they also include foreign and cryptocurrencies. Futures are contracts to buy and sell things in the future. They come together in commodity futures -- contracts that arrange trades in commodities. Futures are a financial derivative in which one party agrees with another party to buy or sell an asset at a predetermined price at some point in the future.
Print Resources
- The Comdty YearbookProvides data and commentary on more than 100 domestic and international commodities
- Commodities price locator byHistorical spot prices.
- Commodity prices byA source book and index providing reference to wholesale, retail and other quotations for more than 10,000 agricultural, commercial, industrial and consumer products.
For the full collection of financial print resources, please consult the librarian.
Journal & News Articles
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to top scholarly business journals dating back as far as 1886. Popular titles available include: Harvard Business Review, Journal of Financial and Quantitive Analysis, and Journal of Finance.
- EconLit with Full TextProvides coverage of the most sought-after economics publications from around the world and includes: peer-reviewed journal articles, working papers from leading universities, PhD dissertations, books, collective volume articles, conference proceedings, and book reviews.
- FactivaIncludes same-day and archival coverage of The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The Globe and Mail, and Barron's. Also features international newspapers and major newswires.
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
Full text of the Wall Street Journal, 1984-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Databases
- S&P Capital IQ (Standard and Poor's Capital IQ)offers the latest data on commodities futures, as well as forecasts. Capital IQ surveys precious metals; non-precious metals; oil and gas; refined products; energy; industrial products; fibers; grains; oilseeds; foodstuff; and livestock.
- Bloombergoffers updated commodity futures prices; information on commodity prices and trading; and the latest commodity index comparison charts.
- LinkedIn Learning (formerly lynda.com)See the course Learning Bitcoin and Other Cryptocurrencies and Understanding Capital Markets.
- Value Line Research Center
On-line access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks. Attention NYPL cardholders: To view issues of Value Line, click on the DASHBOARD tab. Be sure to log out of the resource when your research is complete. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Historical Print Titles
- The CRB commodity yearbook - JBM 96-763 (1994 - 2007 & 2009-2018)
- CRB pricecharts - JBN 06-3 (2006 - 2018)
- Commodities price locator - *R-SIBL Z7164.P94.F74 Business Library (SNFL)
- Commodity trader's almanac - JBL 08-46 (2007-2013)
- Modern trader - JBM 15-39 (2015-18)
- Futures. Source book - JBM 94-794 (1994 - 2007)
- Options, futures, and other derivative securities / John Hull
- The value line daily options survey: the weekly options strategist - JBM98-509 (1998-)
Websites
- Commodities Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) Government agency responsible for overseeing futures markets and professional traders. The website has informative articles, videos, and publications for the layperson.
- CBOE (Chicago Board of Options Exchange) Discussions and tutorials related to options trading.
- CME Group Parent company of four commodities exchanges (CME, CBOT, COMEX, & NYMEX). Current as well as historical prices. Free online classes on options and futures trading.
- Options Industry Council Education resource sponsored by the Options Clearing Corporation. Tutorials, videos, and tools are suitable for beginners as well as more experienced traders.
- Wall Street Journal: Commodities: Current and futures prices for the most-traded commodities.
- World Commodity Markets Commodity prices and quarterly forecasts.