Economics Reference and Data Sources: General Reference Sources

Consisting of over 1,900 articles written by leading figures in the field including Nobel prize winners, this is the definitive scholarly reference work for a new generation of economists.

The first reference work ever to be awarded the Eccles Prize for Excellence in Economic Writing from Columbia Business School. Continuing in the tradition of The New Palgrave, this 3-volume set provides an unparalleled guide to modern money, banking and finance. In over 1,000 substantial essays by leading academic and professional authorities, it provides the most comprehensive analysis available of contemporary theory and the fast-evolving global monetary and financial framework. In its scope and depth of coverage, it is indispensable for the academic and practitioner alike.

A great deal of economics is about law - the functioning of markets, property rights and their enforcement, financial obligations, and so forth - yet these legal aspects are almost never addressed in the academic study of economics. Conversely, the study and practice of law entails a significant understanding of economics, yet the drafting and administration of laws often ignore economic principle. Drawn from the ranks of academics, professional lawyers, and economists in eight countries, the 340 contributors include world experts in their fields. Among them are Nobel laureates in economics and eminent legal scholars.

This important reference work contains 900 signed articles by leading international scholars drawn from the USA, Latin America, Europe, and Asia. Essays on countries and regions sit alongside those on abstract concepts, institutions, phenomena, and historical processes, and biographies and assessments of important names from both technology and business, including economic historians of note. Due to the interdisciplinary nature of the field, it is divided not only by chronological and geographic boundaries, but also by related subfields such as agricultural history, demographic history, business history, and the histories of technology, migration, and transportation.

This two-volume encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals. Includes more than 300 up-to-date entries covering a wide range of topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development. These topics include concepts and principles, models and theory, institutions and agreements, policies and instruments, analysis and tools, and sectors and special issues. Each entry includes cross-references and a list of sources for further reading and research.

An authoritative and comprehensive dictionary containing clear, concise definitions of over 3,400 key economic terms, this A to Z covers all aspects of economics including economic theory, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labour economics, public economics and public finance,monetary economics, and environmental economics. There is strong coverage of international trade and many entries on economic organizations and institutions from around the world. Fully revised to keep up-to-date with this fast-moving field, this new edition expands the coverage to include termsrelevant to the financial crisis, such as black swan, credit crunch, Northern Rock, and Iceland, making this dictionary the most up-to-date available.Entries are supplemented by entry-level web links, which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website, giving the reader the opportunity to explore further the areas covered in the dictionary. Useful appendices include a list of institutional acronyms and their affiliated websites, a listof Nobel prize-winners in economics, the Greek alphabet, and a list of relevant websites.As ideal for browsing as it is useful for quick reference, this dictionary remains an essential guide for students and teachers of economics, business, and finance, as well as for professional economists and anyone who has to deal with economic data.

A comprehensive collection of entries, essays, and primary source documents emphasizing the importance of economic policy in all aspects of life in the United States. Coverage includes over 500 brief entries on a wide spectrum of topics, plus 31 in-depth essays on such seminal issues as slavery, migration patterns, the welfare state, the rise of the city, and the development of financial institutions.