Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Synagogues and Jewish Communal Institutions: Communal Institutions and Organizations

Communal Institutions and Organizations

Important reference works in our collection are:

- The American Jewish Year Book provides listing and basic information about national Jewish organizations. The volumes from 1899 to 2008 are available in print, on the Internet and in searchable mode in our database.

- The Jewish communal register of New York City, 1917-1918 available both online and in print.

Links to additional resources, both at the library and online (to get to the specific category please click on its name:

Camps Libraries 
Cemeteries Mikvaot 
Charity organizations Museums 
Community Centers Rabbinical Courts 
Fraternal organizations - Landsmanshaftn  Schools

 

Some online resources:

- Listing by the Jewish Federation of Jewish organizations in the United States which can be viewed by category or by location

- The Virtual Jewish Library provides background information about American Jewish organizations.

- A directory of Jewish Organizations by Wikipedia provides links to 30 subcategories.

 

Jewish Camps

Resources at NYPL: 

Searching the subject heading Jewish Camps in our Shared Collection Catalog provides more than 17 subheadings.  Among them are Jewish camps -- New York (State), or Jewish camps -- United States.

Some online resources:

- Foundation for Jewish Camp (FJC) 

- JCC Association of North America camps.

- The Wikipedia site of Jewish summer camps leads to informative pages with bibliographies about the history, ideology, programs of the camps.

- An article about Jewish Camping by the Encyclopaedia Judaica (2007) is here.

Jewish Cemeteries

Resources at NYPL:

- Searching the subject heading Jewish Cemeteries in our Shared Collection Catalog provides more than 400 subheadings listed by location. 

- Additional information can be found by typing keywords in the catalog.  

For example, information about books with images of cemeteries and tombstones can be found by typing the keywords Jewish cemeteries Pictorial works.

- Among the directories of Jewish cemeteries are:  

A directory for New York and New Jersey - Jewish cemeteries in the New York City/Northern New Jersey area compiled by Edward L. Rosenbaum.

A directory for Jewish cemeteries in Germany - Jüdische Friedhöfe in Deutschland : eine Bestandsaufnahme by Adolf Diamant.

Some online resources:

- JewishGen Cemetery Inventory lists cemeteries worldwide by location. 

- Jewish cemeteries by country by Wikipedia lists cemeteries worldwide by location.

- An article about Jewish cemeteries by the Encyclopaedia Judaica (2007) is here.

Charity organizations

Resources at NYPL:

- Searching the subject heading Jews -- Charities in our Shared Collection Catalog provides more than 20 subheadings. Among them are Jewish -- Charities -- Periodicals, and Jews -- Charities -- History.

- An important periodical on this subject is the Jewish social service quarterly by the National Conference of Jewish Communal Service in Albany, N.Y.

Some online resources:

- Wikipedia’s page Jewish Charities based in the United States provides information and links to specific charities.

- Directory of Charities and Nonprofit Organizations by GuideStar lists more than 4,000 organizations.  

- The Wikipedia page Charities based in Israel provides information and links to    specific charities.

- Latet - Charity Organizations in Israel This NGO organization is acting as an umbrella to 180 local associations. Their website is in Hebrew, English, and  French.

- An article about Jewish Charity by the Encyclopaedia Judaica (2007) is here.

Community Centers

Resources at NYPL:

Searching the subject heading Jewish Community Centers in our Shared Collection Catalog provides more than 45 subheadings listed by location. 

The subheading Jewish community centers -- United States is here.  A broader search using the words Jewish community centers United States provides more results.

Some online resources:

- JCC Association of North America

- European Council of Jewish Communities (ECJC).

- Wikipedia’s page Jewish Community Center provides information with bibliography about the history, and the services they provide.

Fraternal organizations - Landsmanshaftn

Resources at NYPL: 

- Conduct an advanced search using subject words Fraternal organizations with the subject word Jews results in a list of more than 300 items in our collection about various Landsmanshaftn. 

- A detailed list here, compiled by Roberta Saltzman, includes the location of the Landsmanshaft, the name of the organization, the title of the item, the year and the language in which it was published, and its call number with a hyperlink to its record in our catalog.

Some online resources:

- A list of landsmanshaftn collections in the YIVO Archives is available on the website of the Jewish Genealogical Society of New York.

- JewishGen’s website provides a list of Landsmanshaftn organizations in Israel which is edited from published sources, circa 1996.

- An article about Jewish Fraternal Societies by the Encyclopaedia Judaica (2007) is here.

Jewish Libraries

Resources at NYPL: 

- Searching the subject heading Jewish Libraries in our Shared Collection Catalog provides more than 90 subheadings, arranged by their location.

- Additional subheadings include: Jewish Libraries -- Directories, Jewish libraries -- Handbooks, manuals, etc., and Jewish Libraries -- Periodicals

- An important periodical on this subject is the Judaica librarianship by the Association of Jewish Libraries. It is available online since it was first issued in 1983.

Some online resources:

- Association of Jewish Libraries The Association fosters access to information, learning, teaching and research relating to Jews, Judaism, the Jewish experience and Israel, and includes a variety of libraries worldwide.

- An article about Jewish Libraries by the Encyclopaedia Judaica (2007) is here.

Mikvaot

Resources at NYPL:  

Searching the subject heading Mikveh in our Shared Collection Catalog provides more than 34 subheadings.  Among them are the subcategories Mikveh - Directories, and  Mikveh -- Germany.  

Some online resources:

- The website Mikvaot around the World by Kosher Delight brings a detailed list of Mikvaot around the world.

- An article about the Mivkeh by the Encyclopaedia Judaica (2007) is here.

Jewish Museums

Resources at NYPL:

Resources at NYPL:

- Searching the subject heading Jewish Museums in our Shared Collection Catalog provides more than 110 subheadings.  Among those arranged by their location are Jewish museums -- Germany, Jewish museums -- Italy, and Jewish museums -- Poland

- An important subheading here is Jewish Museums -- Directories.

Some online resources:

- The site Jewish Museums of the World by the Hispanic  Jewish Foundation provides a comprehensive list of museums with links to their website.

- The site Jewish Museums by Wikipedia list museums by categories, and provides a link to their Wikipedia pages)

- An article about Jewish Museums by the Encyclopaedia Judaica (2007) is here

Rabbinical Courts

Resources at NYPL:

Searching the subject heading Rabbinical Courts in our Shared Collection Catalog provides more than 40 subheadings arranged by location. The subject heading Rabbis -- Office brings more than 24 subheadings. Among them is Rabbis -- Office -- History.

Some online resources:

- International directory of Rabbinical Courts by Kosher Delight.

- Directory of Rabbinical Courts in Israel by the Israeli government.

- An article about Bet Din and Judges by the Encyclopaedia Judaica (2007) is here.

Jewish Schools

Resources at NYPL: 
- Searching the subject heading Jewish religious schools in our Shared Collection Catalog provides more than 83 subheadings. Among those listed, by location are Jewish religious schools -- New York (State), and Jewish religious schools -- United States. An additional subject heading here is Jewish religious schools -- Statistics.
- More items on this subject can be found by searching the subject heading Jewish day schools in our Shared Collection Catalog.  This results in more than 160 subheadings.
- Searching the subject heading Yeshivas in our Shared Collection Catalog provides more than 75 subheadings. Among them are Yeshivas -- Israel, and Yeshivas -- New York (State).

Some online resources:
Jewish Schools - Maven search provides a comprehensive listing of Jewish schools Worldwide.