Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Exchanges & Indexes: Further Research at New York Public Library

Further Research at New York Public Library

Beyond the Business Center's print and online resources, NYPL's Stephen A. Schwarzman Library offers print resources for information on exchanges and indexes.. These resources can only be accessed by visiting the Schwarzman Library in person, and cannot be removed from the Library's Rose Main Reading Room. Read here for further information and instructions on requesting these titles. 

The Schwarzman collection includes the resources detailed below.

Historical Market Data

Standard & Poor's Security Price Index Record, Statistical Service | *R-SIBL HG4915. S42 | JBM 92 -945  (1988 - 2010) | Continues: Standard & Poor's Statistical Service. Security Price Index Record | JLM 79-579 (1978 - 1986) | Standard & Poor's Trade and Securities | *ZAN-B372 (1940 - 1960) | JLM 72-324 (1970 - 1976) | The service goes as far back as 1914 with further title variations. See the catalog for more details.

Stocks, Bonds, Bills and Inflation (SBBI) Yearbook | *R- SIBL HG4501. S7949 (Latest edition is available at the Business Center) | Monthly and yearly return statistics for common stocks, small stocks, bonds, Treasury bills, and inflation. | Continues: Ibbotson SBBI ... classic yearbook : market results for stocks, bonds, bills, and inflation | JBM 09-100 (2009 - 2015) | Stocks, bonds, bills, and inflation ... yearbook | JBM 92 - 1459 (1984 - 2007)

Stock Market Indexes

S&P Index Directory | JBL 10-15 (2008-2011, 2013-2015) | Continues: S&P 500 Standard & Poor's Index Focus Monthly Review | JBM 98-545 (1998-2008) | S&P 500 Directory | JBL 91-252 (1989-1992, 1994-2001) | and Stocks in the S&P 500 | JBM 91-619 (1989-1997)

Dow Jones Indexes | JPM 97-442 (1885-1990)

Barron's Weekly. Current issues (paper copy) at the Business Center. 1994-date use Call # *ZAN -T920. CONTINUES: Barron's National Business and Financial Weekly (Library has: vol. 22,no. 32 (Aug.10, 1942) - v. 74. no. 9 (Feb. 28,1994). Call # *ZAN - T920 in Microform Reading Room).

Economist
Current issues at the Business Center. (For v.1 (1843 ) - present date, use call # *ZAN - T3398).

Forbes
Current issues at the Business Center. (For v.1 (1917) - present date, use call # *ZAN -T4695).

Investor's Business Daily
Daily (except Saturdays, Sundays, and general legal holidays). For 1991 - 2001 (incomplete) use Call # *ZAN - B344. Continues: Investor's Daily. (For v. 1, No. 185 (Dec. 31, 1984) - use Call # *XLE - 382).