Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Resources for Philosophy at The New York Public Library: EBooks

eBooks

Past Masters-Philosophy

The Past Masters provides electronic access to the works of the major western philosophers. Among the philosophers included are Aquinas, Aristotle, Berkeley, Descartes, Hobbes, Hegel, Hume, Kant, Kierkegaard, Nietzsche, Pierce, Plato, Spinoza, and Wittgenstein. This is the largest collection of full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world.

Nietzsche Online

In Nietzsche Online, you will find the authoritative editions of Nietzsche's works (KGW) and the letters (KGB). It also contains all the De Gruyter publications on Nietzsche, including the journal New Nietzsche.

Oxford Scholarly Editions Online (OSEO)

Oxford Scholarly Editions Online (OSEO) is a collection of authoritative Oxford editions of the major texts from the humanities. Classic works of philosophy, poetry, drama, literature, and the works of the ancient Greeks and Romans. Interpretative and explanatory notes are placed directly alongside the text.

Loeb Classical Library

The Loeb Classical Library's digital version includes more than 500 English translated works of Greek and Latin texts.   Print volumes are also available in the Rose Main Reading Room's collection.

University Press Scholarship Online

University Press Scholarship Online, provided by Oxford, gives access to the full text of all Oxford titles in philosophy published beginning from 2006. Over 3,000 of their titles in philosophy are open access.

Walter de Gruyter University Press E-Book

The Walter de Gruyter University Press E-Book Collections offers full-text access to over 1,000 academic monographs published in 2019 from eight university presses.

Cambridge Core

Cambridge Core provides access to the full text of all Cambridge University Press titles in philosophy published beginning in 2015.