Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Resources for Philosophy at The New York Public Library: Archives

Archives

PhilArchives

PhilPapers is an index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. It is the largest open-access archive in philosophy. Formerly known as the PhilPapers Archive, it is built on and integrated with the PhilPapers database.

The Hannah Arendt Papers

With over 25,000 items (about 75,000 digital images), the papers contain correspondence, articles, lectures, speeches, book manuscripts, transcripts of Adolf Eichmann's trial proceedings, notes, and printed matters pertaining to Arendt's writings and academic career. The entire collection has been digitized and is available to researchers in reading rooms at the Library of Congress, the New School University in New York City, and the Hannah Arendt Center at the University of Oldenburg, Germany. Parts of the collection and the finding aid are available for public access on the Internet.

The Husserl Archives at The New School for Social Research

The archives offer scholars access to copies of Husserl's unpublished writings from the Husserl Archives in Leuven, Belgium.

The Nietzsche Archive at The New York Public Library

The New York Public Library has facsimiles of all of Nietzsche's papers (except the letters) held in the Nietzsche Archive in Weimar, Germany. These unpublished papers are usually referred to as Nietzsche's Nachlass. There are 45 bound volumes.   Volumes 1-5 contain the manuscripts for his published works; volumes 6-8 Nietzsche's lecture notes; volumes 9-32 philosophical notebooks; volumes 33-42 memoranda; volumes 43-45 musical compositions. *KF 2000 (Nietzsche, F. Fotokopien aus dem Nietzsche-Archiv)