Skip to Main Content

New York City Newspapers at The New York Public Library: Boroughs, Neighborhoods & Metro

AM New York

AM New York ( 2003-2007)

Print

AM New York ( 2008-)

Bronx Times Reporter

Print

Bronx Times Reporter (1997-)

The Brooklyn Citizen

The Brooklyn Citizen (1887-1947)

Brooklyn Eagle

Brooklyn Eagle (1938-1963) 

Digital Resource

Included in the Brooklyn Newsstand database (1841 - 1963)

Print and Digital Resources

Index to the Brooklyn Daily Eagle. Also Available in HathiTrust database
Index to the Brooklyn Daily Eagle. (1892-1901)

Brooklyn Daily Eagle Almanac. Also Available in HathiTrust database.

A Book of Information, General of the World, and Special of New York City and Long Island (1886 - 1922)

Brooklyn Heights Press & Cobble Hill News

Brooklyn Life

Print

Brooklyn Life (1890-1923)

Digital Resource
 
Full text available via HathiTrust--v. 51 (Mar. -Aug. 1915)
 
Available in Brooklyn Newsstand (1890–1924)

Brooklyn Standard Union

Caricature

Caricature (1947-1952)
Greenwich Village Caricature (1947-1953)

The Chat

 The Chat (1903-1929)

Chelsea Clinton News

Microfilm and Print

Chelsea Clinton News (1951-)

City Free Press

City Free Press (1970-1971)

CO-OP City Times

CO-OP City Times (1969-1987)

East Side News

East Side News (1930-1973)

East Village Other

East Village Other (1967-1972)

Digital Resource
East Village Other

Home News

Home News (1911-1948)

Absorbed by New York Post (1801-current)

Gotham Life 

Gotham Life  (1906-1949)

Greenwich Village Lantern

The Greenwich Village press

Print
The Greenwich Village Press (1992-1995)

Digital Resource

The Greenwich Village Press (1993 - 1994)

Long Island Daily Press

Murray Hill News

Murray Hill News (1952-1987)

New York Native

New York Native 1(1980) - 716(1997)

Archival Records

Christopher Street That New Magazine, Inc. Records (1979 - 1982)

New York Native Records (1981 - 1988)

Our Town

Our Town (1970 - 2007)

Newsday (Long Island)

For Newsday (New York), see New York City tab

Newsday (1959 - 2014)

Digital Resources
Newsday Long Island or Nassau edition (1940 -  1994) ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Newsday (1985- ) Global Newsstream, text only
Newsday  2010 - recent (3-month embargo) in ProQuest Recent Newspapers

Newday (1965 - 1972) in FultonSearch

Queens evening news

Print
Queens Evening News (1935-1940) 

Seagater Brooklyn

Seagater Brooklyn (Summer 1975-Winter 1975)

Soho Weekly News

Soho Weekly News (1973-1982)

Star Ledger (New Jersey)

Star Ledger (1972-2011-)

Staten Island Advance

Staten Island Advance (1886- )
Holdings in Research Library begin with 1959.
St. George Library Center has the full run. 

See also, Staten Island History Collection -  St. George Library Center

Searchable Index (1991-current)
Staten Island Advance 

The Suffolk County news

Digital
The Suffolk County News Sayville, N.Y. (1888-current) in NYS Historic Newspapers

Suffolk weekly times

Suffolk Weekly Times (1908-1914)

Suffolk Weekly Times (1964-1969)

Town & Village

Town & Village (1963-2007)

The Tribeca Trib.

The Tribeca Trib. (1996-2005)

Print
The Tribeca Trib. (1996-2015)

Digital (Current)
The Tribeca Trib.

Village Voice

Village Voice (1955-2017) Weekly
*R-*ZAN-G17 

Village Voice(1991-2011)  second copy, Princeton

Digital Resources
Village Voice (1993-2010) ProQuest Research Library 
Full text PDF. Citations/abstracts coverage 1988 - 2017.
Village Voice (1955-2004 many gaps) Google News Archive

Villager

Print and Microfilm
Villager (1933-)

NYPL Digital Collections
Villager (1933-1959)
Digital
Villager (1959-1999) in NYS Historic Newspapers

Washington Herald Square

West Bronx on the Move 

West Bronx on the Move (1972-1973)

The Westsider

The Westsider (1981-2007)

Print
The Westsider (2007-2015)