Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Israel Studies: Periodicals

Journals

Journals at NYPL:

Among the periodicals available at NYPL are:

Israel Studies, published by Indiana University Press for The Ben-Gurion Research Institute for the Study of Israel and Zionism and The Schusterman Center for Israel Studies Brandeis University. This English-language journal has been published since 1996. It appears three times annually and is available in the library in print and online.

Iyunim is a  Hebrew language journal published annually since 1991 by The Ben-Gurion Research Institute for the Study of Israel and Zionism. It provides a platform for the examination of Israeli history and society from a variety of perspectives. 

Israel Studies Review (ISR) is the journal of the Association for Israel Studies, an international and interdisciplinary scholarly organization dedicated to the study of all aspects of Israeli society, history, politics, and culture.   This journal (which  previously appeared under the title Israel Studies Forum or Israel Studies Bulletin or Israel Studies Newsletter) explores modern and contemporary Israel from the perspective of the social sciences, history, the humanities, and cultural studies and welcomes submissions on these subjects. Close attention is paid to the relationships between Israel, the Middle East and the wider world; it encourages scholarly articles with this broader theoretical or comparative approach provided the focus remains on modern Israel.

The online database Historical Jewish Press includes the following titles:

  • BaMa’arakhah - 14 July 1961 - 7 December 1965 (52 issues)

  • Emdah - 1 September 1974 - 1 June 1979 (30 issues)

  • ⁨⁨Eretz Aheret⁩ - 1 October 2000 - 1 April 2012 (66 issues)

  • Sulam - 1 May 1949 - 2 October 1963 (136 issues)

  • Lebens Fragn (in Yiddish) 1 May 1951 - 1 April 2014 (412 issues)

Major Newspapers

Newspapers at NYPL: 

Holdings of Newspapers in Israel are listed in our catalog under the subject heading Israel -- Newspapers include: ha-Aretz, Jerusalem Post, Ma’ariv, Palestine Post. 

ha-Arets = Haaretz daily newspaper is the longest running newspaper currently in print in Israel. It is available on microfilm, since it was first issued in June 1919.
- From April 1918 until December 1982 it is available at the online database Jewish Press
- The last two months of its daily and the weekend editions, in both English and Hebrew, are available through NYPL’s PressReader database (Clicking on the word ‘countries’ and selecting ‘Israel’, in the dropdown menu, will link to these online newspapers).

The Jerusalem Post, which continued the Palestine Post,  is an English-language daily newspaper covering Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World:

- Palestine Post (1933-1950) is available in Proquest. From 1932 to 2008 is available in ProQuest - Historical Newspapers.  and since January 2005 is available in PressReader database (Clicking on the word ‘countries’ and selecting ‘Israel’, in the dropdown menu, will link to these online newspapers).

Maariv - founded in 1948, is available since 1948 at  the database Jewish Press, and Since 1970 and also on microfilm.

Yisrael ha-Yom (since May 2017) is available through NYPL’s PressReader database. (Clicking on the word ‘countries’ and selecting ‘Israel’, in the dropdown menu, will link to these online newspapers).

The online database Historical Jewish Press includes the following titles:

  • Etgar -  1 April 1960 - 13 April 1967 (154 issues) 

  • HaAretz Shelanu⁩ - 31 January 1951 - 26 September 1951 (35 issues)

  • HaHazit - 16 October 1966 - 15 August 1971 (35 issues)

  • Herut - 3 October 1948 - 31 December 1965 (5239 issues) 

  • Koteret Rashit - 1 December 1982 - 14 December 1988 (315 issues)

  • Maariv - 15 February 1948 - 23 April 2020 (11931 issues)

  • HaMedina -  13 July 1948 - 27 August 1948 (40 issues)

  • Iton Rishmi - 14 May 1948 - 14 May 1948

  • LaMerhav - 6 December 1954 - 31 May 1971 (5021 issues)

  • Zmanim - 9 September 1953 - 4 November 1955 (658 issues)