Prints & Printed Texts
The Library houses several rare Korean prints, which have rarely been used by scholars and infrequently displayed to the public. Among the prints housed by the Print Collection, Bird’s eye view of the city of PyongYang, for example, consists of eight color panels and depicts a panoramic view of 16th century PyongYang City, which is now the capital of North Korea. The prints highlight specific areas of the forbidden city that scholars have never seen before. On the same token, other prints would be invaluable to scholars when navigating the history of the Yi Dynasty (1392-1910), the so-called “Land of Morning Calm.” The Library also holds various historical Korean printed texts. I Ryoun Haing Sil To, for example, details the two social orders of the Korean aristocratic society of the 16th century. These printed texts are groups of rare items that should be accessible to scholars researching this field.
Bird’s-Eye View of the City of PyongYang
Bird’s eye view of the city of PyongYang [평양조감도].
Woodblock, 1570-1670. Heijo.
Eight Panels. In the Print Collection.
I Ryoun Haing Sil To
The two social orders. Printed from movable type.
From the Vever Collection. Korean, 1550.
Call Number: Spencer Coll. Korean 1550
The Ten Symbols of Longevity
Yung-Hun Ahn.
The Ten symbols of Longevity.
Tempera paint (?), 1953-54
Sun, Cloud, Pine tree, Stark, Bamboo, Tortoise, Rock, Water, Deer, and “Everyoung” imaginary Weed
Call Number: MEKX+ 106399
A Set of 8 Drawings of Korean Subjects by Life
[A set of 8 drawings of Korean subjects by Life].
Ink, wash, and pigment (watercolor?), 18th-19th century? Anonymous.
Celebration of the First year birthday; Going to school; Passing the civil exam and becoming a government official; Wedding procession, Journey of a government official to a new office; Old age and high rank of family; Celebration of 60 years of birthday.
Call Number: MEKX+++ 111510
Kegon Kyo
Kegon kyo Buddhist sutra, Folded scroll, written in gold on purple dyed paper, to the order of the King of Korai (Korea), and with a large drawing of Buddhist deities, in gold, at the begging. Korea, ca. 1360-1390. I scroll.
Call Number: Spencer Coll. Korean MS. 1. 1360-1390
Korean Printed Texts
Chosen Gyoretsu Zu. 1682. Ms. Japanese. 1 scroll, on paper; 21 ft. Procession of the Korean Mission, with drummers, soldiers, horses, litters, and a fat hats and flapping coats. Call Number: Spencer Coll. Japanese MS. 75
Fubo Onju Kyo. Sutra Telling the Profound Benefits of Parents. Printed with text in both Chinese and Korean characters. Published in 1545. I volume. Call Number: Spencer Coll. Korean 1545
[Korean subjects] six panels. Anonymous (Artist). Ink, wash. Paper / Sheet: 31 1/8 x 15 1/2 in. (79 x 39.4 cm) Transferred from the New York Public Library Art and Architecture Division. Print Collection (111510). Six of eight panels, color.
The Love and Care of Children.
Printed book from wooden blocks, with innumerable woodcut illustrations, in the Korean-Chinese style of cutting. Korean, Pyongyang (?), ca. 1550.
Call Number: Spencer Coll. Korean 1550
Sam Gang Haing Sil To.
The fundamental duties. Printed from movable type. From the Vever Collection. Korea, 1434.
Call Number: Spencer Coll. Korean 1434
Sanko Gyojitsu.
Loyal retainers, dutiful children…. With the text in both Chinese and Korean language and characters; woodcuts based on earlier editions. Korean, ca. 1580. 3 volumes.
Call Number: Spencer Coll. Korean 1580
Toyohara Chikanobu (Japanese, 1838-1912) (Printmaker).
Report from Korea . Chosen henporoku, 1882.
Woodcut. Paper / Sheet: 14 1/8 x 9 5/16 in. (35.9 x 23.7 cm).
Gift of Donald Keene.
Print Collection (108510.a-c) Color; bound as booklet. Keene 86.58 a-c; Keene 86.53 a-c
Toyohara Chikanobu (Japanese, 1838-1912) (Printmaker).
Negotiations for reform in Korea. 1894.
Chosen kaikaku danban no zu, Woodcut. Paper / Sheet: 14 3/16 x 9 13/16 in. (36 x 25 cm). Gift of Donald Keene.
Print Collection (109270.a-c) Keene 86.38 a-c
Utagawa Kunimasa IV (Japanese, 1848-1920) (Photographer).
Japanese new selected thoughts: A Parody of Korea.
Nisshin senso nazorae (?) no chosen, 1895.
Woodcut: Paper / Sheet: 14 x 9 3/16 in. (35.5 x 23.3 cm).
Gift of Donald Keene.
Print Collection (101998.a-c) Color. Keene 85.92a
Utagawa Kunimasa IV (Japanese, 1848-1920) (Photographer).
Naval battle between China and Japan off Phungtao Island, Korea
Chosen hoto oki nisshin kaisen no zu, 1894.
Woodcut. Paper / Sheet: 14 3/4 x 28 3/8 in. (37.5 x 72 cm).
Gift of Donald Keene.
Print Collection (101999.a-c). Color. Keene 85.99a-c
Watanabe Nobukazu (Japanese, 1872-1944) (Printmaker).
A banquet at the Korean Court, 1894
Chosen kyuchu enkai no zu. Woodcut. Paper / Sheet: 14 3/16 x 9 1/16 in. (36 x 23 cm).
Gift of Donald Keene.
Print Collection (108401.a-c ). Color. Keene 86.40a-c
Yi, I. (1536-1584).
Kyongmong Yogyol. [Secret of Expelling Ignorance; Systematic guide of learning]. [Korea: s.n., 1577]. 1, 20 leaves [i.e. 42 p]; 30 cm. In Chinese characters, to be read in Korean, Title from label on front cover, also as caption title and running title. Date from preface. Printed from movable type, on double leaves. Binding, original, of yellow paper, stitched in red. Laid in: photocopy of typescript letter of authentication, 1975 Jan., 31, from L. Carrington Goodrich to Leonard Schlosser; typescript note on the printing, on card 12 x 17 cm.
Call Number: Schlosser 757