Korean Collections at The New York Public Library: A Survey: Maps, Photographs & Digital Collections

Gaubert, B., creator.
Carte de la Corée, du Japon, et de la Chine / B. Gaubert.
Scale approximately 1:8,700,000 (E 110°--E 144°/N 46°--N  31°).
61 Rue Lafayette, Paris: D. Cassigneul, Imprimeur, [1895?]
1 map; 26 x 38 cm, on sheet 30 x 44 cm. cartographic image cri rdacontent.
Petit journal (Paris, France) Petit Journal. Supplement illustré  9967-3940 [1895?]

Call Number: Map Div. 18-4962

Rand McNally and Company.
Rand McNally standard map of China and Japan [cartographic material].
Scale [1:8,743,680]. Statute miles, 138 = 1 in. (E 68⁰--E 148⁰/N 52⁰--N 16⁰).
[Washington, D.C.?: Government Printing Office?, 1926]
1 map: col.; 47 x 65 cm.  

Call Number: Map Div. 08-1262

Costume-Regional-Korean. Unknown (Illustrator)

Picture Collection (Pict. Coll. COSTU-Reg-Kor)

One or more folders of images may include photomechanical reproductions, photographs, or prints.

Anville, Jean Baptiste Bourguignon d', 1697-1782.
Nouvel atlas de la Chine, de la Tartarie chinoise et du Thibet: contenant les cartes générales & particulieres de ces pays, ainsi que la carte du royaume de Corée…   La Haye : H. Scheurleer, 1737.
12 p. 42 maps (part fold.) 54 cm.
This atlas was prepared to accompany J. B. Du Halde's Description géographique, historique, chronologique, politique, et physique de l'empire de la Chine ... La Haye, 1736. cf. Avertissement.
Call Number: Map Div. (Atlas Cases) (Anville, J. B. B. d'. Nouvel atlas de la Chine

Cordier, Henri, 1849-1925.
Description d'un atlas sino-coréen, manuscrit du British Museum...
Paris : Ernest Leroux, 1896.
14 p. plates. 51 cm.
Recueil de voyages et de documents pour servir à l'histoire de la géographie. Série cartographique
Call Number: Map Div.+++ (Cordier, H. Description d'un atlas sino-coréen)

Eleanor King photographs, approximately 1900-1990 1928-1988. 

5 boxes (1.93 linear feet) : black and white and color ; 34 x 26 cm or smaller. Collection contains black and white and color photographs and slides documenting the life and career of modern dance choreographer, teacher and dancer Eleanor King and span from approximately 1900 to 1990. A number of the photographs capture King's performances with the Humphrey-Weidman Company, as well as her own works over several decades. Many photographs and slides depict King's travels to the Far East: her four trips to Japan, and 1976 trip to Korea (Fulbright Research Grants, 1967 and 1976, respectively).
Call Number:  *MGZEB 16-245

Keifu Testudo senro ryakuzu = Map of the Seoul-Pusan Railway ; Fu Tōyō Tetsudō senro ryakuzu = Map of the Eastern Railways. Map of the Seoul-Pusan Railway; Map of the Eastern Railways.
Tokyo: Taikindō, [1910?]
2 maps in 1 sheet: color; 36 x36 cm and 36 x 18 cm, on sheet 40 x 55 cm.
cartographic image rdacontent.
Map highlights three railway lines in red for Seoul-Pusan Railway, Seoul-Inchon Railway and Seoul-Oitjyu Railway (known today as Sinuiju Special Administrative Region. Sea routes between Japan, China and Korea highlighted in red.
On Map of the Eastern Railways it shows the section of the line between Seoul-Pusan Railways as having been built while the section linking Hanseong-Pyongyang-Yingkou is shown proposed.
Call Number: Map Div. 19-745.

Pictures of former Korean palaces. 

[Seoul]; 195-?

1 portfolio [143 photographs]; 35 cm.
English index to picture of former Korean Palaces (13 p.) inserted.
Each plate accompanied by a guard sheet with its description.
Office of Former Imperial Household (Korea)    
Call Number: *OTF+++ 98-3911

Koronatsionnyisbornik: s soizvoleniia ego Imperatorskago Velichestva Gosudaria Imperatora; illiustrirovan N. Samokishem, E. Samokish-Sudkovskoi i S. Vasilʹkovskim; v sostavlenii prinimali uchastie: N. Oprits ... [et al.].
S.-Peterburg: Ekspeditsiisa zagotovleniia gos. bumag, 1899.
2 v.: ill., plates, ports., plans, facsims.; 46 cm.
Part of the illustrative material is colored and folded; the portraits are preceded by guard sheets with descriptive letterpress.
Call Number: *QDZ+++ (Russia. Ministerstvo. Koronatsionnyi) 

A new general collection of voyages and travels; consisting of  the most esteemed relations, which have been hitherto published in any language; comprehending everything remarkable in its kind, in Europe, Asia, Africa, and America.
London, Printed for T. Astley, 1745-47.
4 v. plates (part fold.), maps (part fold.), plans (part fold.), 27 cm.
Compiled by John Green, but known as the Astley collection.
Call Number: *KC 1745 (New general collection of voyages and travels)

Peking, north China, south Manchuria and Korea 4th ed.
London : Thos. Cook & Son, 1920.
161, xxii, [3] folded leaves of plates: ill., maps, plans;19 cm.;
"With maps, plans and illustrations."
Thomas Cook (Firm)
Call Number: KCH (Cook. Peking, north China, south Manchuria and Korea. 1920)

Ray Jerome Baker (American, 1880-1972) (Photographer).;
Miners' Cabins (Korea)
Gelatin silver print. Print Size: 8 x 10 in. (20.3 x 25.4 cm).
Transferred from the New York Public Library Picture Collection, 1990s. Photographer's stamp and manuscript notations on verso.; Photography Collection (106PH1234.002);1 photo formerly 101PH020;
William Henry Jackson (American, 1843-1942) (Photographer).
[Wonsan, or Genzan, South Kankyo province, on Chosen Bay, Northeast Korea].
Alternate Titles: Photographs from the World's Transportation Commission. 1895.
Gelatin silver print: Print Size: 6 x 8 in. (15.2 x 20.3 cm) Mat / Mount: 7 x 8 1/4 in. (17.8 x 21 cm).
Transferred from the New York Public Library Picture Collection, 1991. 
Photography Collection. Manuscript notations and Picture Collection stamps on recto and verso (See William Henry Jackson Papers).
Call Number: MFZ (Jackson) 93-6285

Y. M. C. A. Team, Seoul, Korea.
Unknown (Photographer), 1870s-1890s.
The A.G. Spalding Baseball Collection. Halftone print.
Call Number: Photography Collection (Spalding 7-45)