Korean Collections at The New York Public Library: A Survey: Manuscripts & Archives

Horace Newton Allen papers, 1883-1923, bulk (1883-1905). 
This Collection consists of correspondence, diaries for 1883 to 1903, writings, speeches, and other papers reflecting Allen's career as a clergyman, medical missionary in Korea, secretary of the Korean Legation in Washington and of the American Legation in Korea, and United States Minister to Korea. Includes papers relating to foreign commercial concessions in Korea, the attempt of the Korean emperor to enlist American aid against Japan, and the Russo-Japanese War. Also, miscellaneous papers relating mainly to Korea including photographs, clippings, copies of Korean and Japanese newspapers, and other printed matter. Correspondents include Samuel L. Clemens, John Hay, and Horace Porter. Horace Newton Allen (1858-1932) was an American missionary, diplomat and physician.
Call Number: MssCol 49-

George Clayton Foulk papers, 1883-1887   
Collection consists of dispatches, correspondence, reports, notes, photographs, prints, and several documents. Dispatches, 1884-1887, are letterpress copies written while Foulk served at the U.S. legation and describe current events in Korea. Correspondence, 1883-1887, both private and official, is from naval officers and others. Notes and reports concern Korea and affairs of the legation. Also, photographs of Foulk, prints of Korean ironclads, and Korean language documents. 
Call Number: MssCol 1052

Everett Frazar papers, 1883-1948.

Collection consists of correspondence, official documents, business papers, news clippings, and other papers of Frazar and his son, Everett W. Frazar (b. 1867). Materials related chiefly to Frazar's activities as consul-general, 1883-1900; to the business of the mercantile firm of Frazar and Company, 1884-1923; and to the American Asiatic Association, 1898-1948. 
Call Number: MssCol 1073

William Henry Jackson papers, 1862-1942.
Collection consists chiefly of William Henry Jackson’s diaries, (including diary transcripts, reconstructions, and narratives) which span the years from his enlistment in the Union army during the Civil War at the age of 19 until his death in 1942 at the age of 99.  The remainder of the collection consists of letters written to his wife during his travels abroad as a photographer with the World's Transportation Commission, 1894-1896; photographs taken in India, New Zealand, and Korea; two sketchbooks of pueblos; four notebooks; and a few pieces of ephemera that had been tucked into the diaries.
William Henry Jackson was an American photographer, artist, and writer, best known as the photographer for the U.S. Geological and Geographical Survey of the Territories, 1870-1879.  He produced some of the earliest photographs of Utah, Colorado, and Wyoming wilderness areas. 
Call Number: MssCol 1541

New York Times Company records. Foreign Desk records, 1948-1993.

73 linear feet (175 boxes)

The New York Times Foreign Desk records are a collection of files maintained by the New York Times Company documenting the work and accomplishment of the foreign reporting staff, the operation of the foreign news bureaus around the world, and the process of gathering and editing the news from abroad. 
Call Number: MssCol 17792.

Korea.

see: Alden, Robert, 1949-1963; Barrett, George, 1951-1952; Hailey, Foster; Johnston, Richard J.H., 1952-1969; Jorden, William J., 1952-1961; MacGregor, Greg, 1952-1960.

b. 1 f. 7  Alden, Robert 1949-1963. Photographs and biographical sketches (dated 1949, 1952). War correspondent in Korea under the jurisdiction of the Tokyo Bureau. Correspondence regarding who makes decisions about coverage of the Korea-Japan area (1952-1953). Transfer from Korea to city desk (1954). Assignment to Southeast Asia with base in Singapore (1955). Reporting on situation in Indonesia and Thailand. Transfer from foreign staff to local staff (1957). Transfer from financial news desk to Paris Bureau (1961). Readers' mail.

b. 4 f. 5 Barrett, George (1951-1952). (Korean War Correspondent) Of special interest: Censorship problem regarding a story of guerillas behind communist lines in Korea. Photographs.

b. 44 f. 3-7.  Hailey, Foster. Staff correspondent. Mostly correspondence regarding assingments Coverage of South America with base in Buenos Aires (1950) Assignment to the Far East (1955) Coverage of Korea Transfer to the Middle East with base in Cairo (1958) Readers' mail Biographical sketch (1959)

b. 55 f. 2. Johnston, Richard J.H. (1952-1969). Temporary assignments abroad of Johnston from the local reportotial staff. Assignments to Korea, (1960), United Nations (1967). Biographical sketch (1960).

b. 55 f. 3-6.  Jorden, William J. (1952-1961). Mostly correspondence regarding assignments in Japan and Korea (1952-1955) and in Moscow (1956-1958). Subjects include: Frequent reference to censorship problem in Moscow. Discussion about coverage of Soviet Union (of interest: notes on telephone conversation between Jorden and Harrison Salisbury). Jorden's participation in interview with Khrushchev by Turner Catledge (1957). Jorden resigned from The Times in 1961. The file contains a biographical sketch of Jorden and photographs of him.

b. 65 f. 6-10. MacGregor, Greg (1952-1960). (Staff correspondent) Mostly correspondence regarding assignment in Southeast Asia with base in South Korea and then Hong Kong. Of interest: Coverage of Taiwan, Communist China, Vietnam, Singapore. Transfer to New York (1960). The file also contains readers mail, a biographical sketch, and photographs.

New York Times Company records. Arthur Hays Sulzberger papers, 1823-1999.
123 linear feet (297 boxes, 10 volumes)
Cross references for "Photograph file" refer to a file created by The New York Times that is not yet available. Portions of the following files are closed until 2019 per donor agreement: Series I. People:  Adler, Julius Ochs, Jr., Blair, William M., Cohen, Richard N., Golden, Ben Hale, Rosenschein, Matthew, Windsor, Duke and Duchess of.  Series II. Subjects:  Sulzberger Family. The following files are closed until 2034 per donor agreement: Series II. Subjects:  Insurance,Pulitzer Prizes, Sulzberger Foundation,Sulzberger, Iphigene Ochs, Trust. The following file is closed until 2039 per donor agreement: Series II. 
Call Number: MssCol 17782.

b. 62 f. 11. Rhee, Syngman. 1953-1955, 1965. See also: Korea Photograph file

b. 87 f. 13. Yim, Louise. See: Chung-Ang University Korea.

b. 192 f. 4-5. Korea, 1948-1965. Includes correspondence about NYT news coverage and editorial positions on conditions and events in Korea and correspondence with Syngman Rhee, including an exchange about restrictions on the Korean press. See also: Chung-Ang University Korean War

b. 192 f. 6-8. Korean War, 1950-1955. Includes memoranda, letters, and other documents about the outbreak and conduct of the War, the handling of prisoners of war, the fate of the civilian population, diplomatic action in the United Nations, the truce negotiations, and the NYT's editorial coverage of events. See also: Censorship Lanham, Charles T. Press Wireless, Inc. Staff: Military Service and Veterans Staff: Senate Investigation

International League for Human Rights records, 1948-1990. 

62 linear feet (123 boxes).  Four series: I. General Correspondence; II. Internal Correspondence and Papers; III. Printed Ephemera; IV. Additions to the Records.
The records consist of correspondence, memoranda, minutes, reports, financial papers, case files, and printed matter such as clippings, press releases, brochures, and newsletters. This material documents League efforts to investigate human rights abuses around the world, to assist individual victims, and to participate in conferences sponsored by the United Nations and other international organizations. Correspondence files include letters of League founder and chairman Roger Baldwin to and from League members and other individuals and organizations. Also included are internal memoranda, press releases, reports, and ephemera relating to the investigation of rights violations in various countries. Administrative records and case files from the Family Reunification Program Document League efforts to aid individuals fleeing political oppression in Eastern Europe and elsewhere during the 1970s-80s. Case files closed until 2025. Formerly known as the International League for the Rights of Man Records.
Call Number: MssCol 1518.

b. 3. Korea 1955-1957. 17 items. Korean League for the Rights of Man (Lee Hwal).

b. 23.  Korea 1959-1970. 265 items

b. 59. South Korea 1980-1986

b. 117. South Korea

Camp Shows publicity records, 1941-1955.
10 lin. ft. (25 boxes) and 1 oversized folder.
1 reel microfilm.
I. History of the USO; II. Reports and Office Files.
The USO Camp Shows Publicity Records consist of reports, clippings, posters and photographs for the years 1941 through 1955.  The records deal solely with the USO entertainment effort during World War II and Korea, as well as the USO entertainment effort in the veterans' hospitals during and after the war. One-sheet posters (color lithographs) are for the camp shows (musical revues and variety shows) presented by the United Service Organizations (U.S.O.) during World War II and the Korean War and the time immediately following those wars.
This collection was a gift from Camp Shows, Inc. in 1958. The records had been in the custody of historian Clayton Hamilton until his death, when they were returned to Camp Shows by his widow. 
Call Number: *T-Mss 1991-007.

Series III: Photograph Files. ca. 1940-1952

The photographs files of the U.S.O. Camp Shows Publicity Records are arranged in 4 sub-series. The first sub-series is arranged alphabetically by performer and include most of the famous stars who were involved in the U.S.O. tours during World War II. The second sub-series is arranged by O.S.U. (organizational service unit) and are listed in chronological order by number. The third sub-series is by subject and contains Christmas shows, hospital entertainment, and assorted other categories. The last sub-series contains two boxes of miscellaneous negatives arranged alphabetically by subject. Other negatives can also be found in individual folders underperformer or by troupe number.

b. 16 f. 6. Troupe # 995 (Operation Startime - Christmas in Korea) 1952

b. 18 f. 4. Troupe # 1057 (William Holden in Korea)

b. 22 f. 14. Piper Laurie Show (Korea)

b. 23 f. 2. Audiences – Korea

b. 23 f. 10. Korea 1952