Jean Blackwell Hutson Research and Reference Division
Peaches by Call Number: Sc Fic (McCannon, D. Peaches)ISBN: 0688416586Publication Date: 1974A young black girl growing up in Harlem tells about her life with her family and her ambition to be an artist.
Speak to the Winds by Call Number: JFE 17-7536ISBN: 9780688516888Publication Date: 1975A collection of African proverbs primarily from Ghana, dealing with wisdom, truth and falsehood, human conduct, contentment, opportunity, children, and animals.
Creating Their Own Image by
Hailed as "a captivating and thorough study of a long-ignored aspect of America's art history" (CHOICE), Creating Their Own Image offers the first comprehensive history of African-American women artists, spanning from slavery to the Harlem Renaissance and the tumultuous civil rights era, rightup to the present day. Lavishly illustrated throughout with color illustrations, this magnificent volume richly details hundreds of important works - including some images never before published - to present a portrait of artistic creativity unprecedented in its scope and ambition. Weaving together an expansive collection of artists, styles, and periods, Lisa Farrington argues that for centuries African-American women artists have created an alternative vision of how women of color can, are, and might be represented in American culture. From utilitarian objects such as quiltsand baskets to a wide array of fine arts, Creating Their Own Image serves up compelling evidence of the fundamental human need to convey one's life, emotions, and experiences on a canvas of one's own making.
ISBN: 9780199767601Publication Date: 2011-03-31
Wilhemina Jones, Future Star by Call Number: Sc D 81-301ISBN: 0440098572Publication Date: 1980A young black girl growing up in Harlem in the mid-1960's dreams of pursuing an art career and leaving the oppressive atmosphere of her home.Raised in Harlem, Willi needs all the fantasies her busy mind can dream up until she wins an award at a prestigious art show and realizes that making her fantasies come true depends on her
Moving Image and Recorded Sound Divisions
An interview with Faith Ringgold and Dindga McCannon [sound recording]
Artists Faith Ringgold and Dindga McCannon are interviewed about their participation in the first major art gallery showing of black women artists. They discuss the specific difficulties that African American women artists have in realizing their artistic vision and the historical exclusion of African American artists by the art establishment. They also discuss the moral imperative of the African American artist in giving artistic expression to experiences unique to black Americans.
Electronic Resources
Perform a keyword search "Dindga McCannon"; accessible at the New York Public Library and branch Libraries
- Art Full TextIndexes and abstracts articles from an international selection of periodicals including French, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish, and English-language journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Art Index RetrospectiveIndexes articles in periodicals, yearbooks, and museum publications, 1929-1984. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Dates of Coverage: 1974-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online offers users the ability to access the vast content of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms all in one interface. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsIndexes articles on architecture in its broadest sense, including archaeology, decorative arts, interior design, furniture, landscape architecture, and city planning from 1930s to present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Berg Fashion LibraryComprehensive coverage of world fashion from reference titles, journal articles, ebooks, and images. Select "Resource Area" to access lesson plans, thematic reading lists, and biographies. Please note that Fairchild Books and Fashion Photography Archive content is not included in the Library's subscription. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Design and Applied Arts Index
International index to design and craft journals. Dates of Coverage: 1973-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Harper's Bazaar Archive
The entire run of Harper's Bazaar, in full text and full color, from 1867-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of JSTOR. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Nineteenth Century Art WorldwideA scholarly e-journal devoted to the study of nineteenth-century painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, architecture, and decorative arts. Dates of Coverage:
1780-1920. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.** - Smithsonian Collections Online
Gale and the Smithsonian Institution have partnered to give libraries a unique opportunity to provide students, faculty, and researchers the chance to look behind the glass of the Smithsonian exhibits and collections. The database covers The National Museum of American History's Trade Literature Collection and the Warshaw Collection of Business Americana (ca. 1820-1926) and six Worlds Fair and Exposition collections (1831-1940). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Perform a keyword search "Dindga McCannon"; accessible at the New York Public Library and branch Libraries
- African American Periodicals 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and page images of over 170 periodicals, published in 26 states, by and about African Americans. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, and annual reports. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of Readex/Newsbank. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Black Studies Center
This fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies includes scholarly essays, periodical literature, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and more. Combines: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), and The Chicago Defender. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Ethnic NewsWatch (1959-present)
Collection of ethnic, minority, and native newspapers, magazines, and journals published in America. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- International Index to Black Periodicals Full TextIncludes current and retrospective citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the U.S., Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and page images of the leading Black newspaper of the 20th century. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ProQuest Historical African American Newspapers
African American historical newspapers throughout the United States. Collections include the Atlanta Daily World 1931-2003, Baltimore Afro-American 1893-1988, Chicago Defender 1910-1975, Cleveland Call and Post 1934-1991, Los Angeles Sentinel 1934-2005, New York Amsterdam News 1922-2010, Norfolk Journal and Guide 1921-2003, Philadelphia Tribune 1912-2001, and Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2002. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Academic OneFile
This article database includes full-text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals covering topics in the areas of current events, general sciences and technology, social sciences, arts, and humanities. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Indexes biographical listings in print dictionaries and encyclopedias covering millions individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. A good resource for researching those who are less well-known or famous. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical information on 650,000+ people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines. For more in-depth biographies of figures from American history, consult American National Biography. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Flipster
Access over 100 popular magazines, including Bon Appetit, Sports Illustrated, Time, and People, through this digital platform. Send issues to the app (available in the Apple App Store and Google Play) for offline reading. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Humanities International CompleteThis database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,200 journals and 2.8 million records) plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for nearly 1,200 journals.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- New York Times (1851-2019) w/ Index This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and page images from The New York Times archive with the option to search by subject headings (index covers 1851-1993). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- National Newspapers Premier This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text from the 1980's to the present of over 25 local, regional and national newspapers including the the New York Daily News, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and The Christian Science Monitor. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals and top quality book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Proquest Dissertations and Theses
Includes citations for dissertations from 1861 to those accepted as recently as last semester. Abstracts from 1980 - present. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities, from a diverse array of academic subjects including literature, languages, art history, music history, philosophy, history, mathematics, psychology, and science. A subset of these documents is publicly available using the website PQDT Open. **Patrons should read the Terms & Condition sand Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**