Art databases...
that relate to fashion and costume history can be found under Articles & Databases on the Library’s website. Please keep in mind that not all will be available outside the Library.
- Interested in what resources you can access from home?
- View our guide: Art Resources from Home.
- Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon (AKL)
Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon Online (Artists of the World Online) is biographical reference guide to artists. It contains up-to-date, authoritative information on over one million artists.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles from an international selection of periodicals including French, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish, and English-language journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Art Index Retrospective
Indexes articles in periodicals, yearbooks, and museum publications, 1929-1984.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ARTstor
ARTstor is a nonprofit resource that provides access to more than one million images in the arts, architecture, and other fields in the humanities and sciences.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Berg Fashion Library
Comprehensive coverage of world fashion from reference titles, journal articles, ebooks, and images. Access to this resources is provided through Bloomsbury Fashion Central. Please note that Fairchild Books and Fashion Photography Archive content is not included in the Library's subscription. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Design and Applied Arts Index
International index to design and craft journals. Dates of Coverage: 1973-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Harper's Bazaar Archive
The entire run of Harper's Bazaar, in full text and full color, from 1867-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of JSTOR. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online offers users the ability to access the vast content of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms all in one interface. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Vogue Archive
The entire run of Vogue Magazine, in full text and full color, from 1892-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Vogue Italia Archive
The complete run of Vogue Italia fashion arts magazine from its launch in 1964 to the present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Women's Wear Daily Archive (WWD)
Full color, fully searchable, full text version of Women's Wear Daily, from 1910-2015. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Wondering if the library has a particular fashion journal or magazine?
- If you know the title, use the catalog's Journal Title search function. (Examples of scholarly and popular titles are found below.)
- You can also search by the subject heading Fashion--Periodicals. to find a relevant list of titles.
Costume : the journal of the Costume Society.
Costume is a scholarly, refereed publication presenting current research into historic and contemporary dress. The journal publishes articles from a broad chronological period and with a worldwide remit; it maintains a balance between practice and theory and concentrates on the social significance of dress. The journal also includes reviews and listings of new books, journal articles, and exhibitions.
Call Number: JQM 11-50ISBN: 0590-8876Publication Date: 1968Dress, the journal of the Costume Society of America Dress, the journal of the Costume Society of America, has been in publication since 1975. It represents the highest level of scholarship and addresses many diverse areas of study including examinations of dress in art, social history, anthropology, and material culture. The journal also invites work on fundamental concerns such as theory, research methods, and analytical and interpretative papers that describe and place dress in cultural or historical context.
Call Number: JQM 02-60ISBN: 0361-2112Publication Date: 1975-Elle Fashion. Beauty. Celebrity. Culture.
Call Number: JFM 86-405ISBN: 0888-0808Publication Date: 1985-Fashion theory. The importance of studying the body as a site for the deployment of discourses is well-established in a number of disciplines. By contrast, the study of fashion has, until recently, suffered from a lack of critical analysis. Increasingly, however, scholars have recognized the cultural significance of self-fashioning, including not only clothing but also such body alterations as tattooing and piercing. Fashion Theory takes as its starting point a definition of “fashion” as the cultural construction of the embodied identity. It provides an interdisciplinary forum for the rigorous analysis of cultural phenomena ranging from footbinding to fashion advertising.
Call Number: JQL 11-20ISBN: 1362-704XPublication Date: 1997
The Illustrated millinerPublication Date: 1900-1934
International Journal of Fashion Studies
The International Journal of Fashion Studies is a scientific peer-reviewed journal that fosters the worldwide diffusion of Fashion Studies. Fashion Studies is an interdisciplinary field of research that has been producing an extensive repertoire of theories, analyses and enquiries.
ISBN: 2051-7106Publication Date: 2014
The Journal of Dress History
The Journal of Dress History is the academic publication of The Association of Dress Historians (ADH) through which scholars can articulate original research in a constructive, interdisciplinary, and peer-reviewed environment.
ISBN: 2515–0995Publication Date: 2017
McCall's
McCall's was a monthly American women's magazine, published by the McCall Corporation, that enjoyed great popularity through much of the 20th century, peaking at a readership of 8.4 million in the early 1960s. It was established as a small-format magazine called The Queen in 1873. In 1897 it was renamed McCall's Magazine—The Queen of Fashion (later shortened to McCall's) and subsequently grew in size to become a large-format glossy. It was one of the "Seven Sisters" group of women's service magazines.
Call Number: *DA+ (McCall's)ISBN: 0024-8908
Textile history
Textile History is an internationally recognized, peer-reviewed, journal and one of the leading publications in its field. It is viewed as an important outlet for current research. Published in the spring and autumn of each year, its remit has always been to facilitate the publication of high-quality research and discussion in all aspects of scholarship arising from the history of textiles and dress.
Call Number: JSL 94-35ISBN: 0040-4969Publication Date: 1968
Vogue
American monthly fashion and lifestyle magazine that covers many topics, including haute couture fashion, beauty, culture, living, and runway.
Call Number: *DA+ (Vogue)ISBN: 0042-8000Publication Date: 1892-
Get Help
For further assistance in using any of these resources you can contact the Art & Architecture staff by visiting us in Room 300 of the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building or through email at art@nypl.org.