Fashion Illustration & Fashion Design
The Beautiful by
The work of today's trendiest and most promising fashion and lifestyle illustrators.
Call Number: *R-ART TT509 .B42 2010ISBN: 9783899553215Publication Date: 2010
Complete Book Fashion Illustration by Call Number: MME 88-4117ISBN: 0060466790Publication Date: 1987
Costume Design Graphics by
A draw along workbook that addresses the mechanical technique of figure drawing. The easy-to-grasp system of proportions assures an accurate human figure, and step-by-step exercises will help you make the figure seem to move on the page. Once you've got that down, you may move on to the techniques needed to clothe the figure, including a study in fabric hang, drape, and fold.
Call Number: JQF 02-957ISBN: 9780896762367Publication Date: 2000
Elementary Fashion Design and Trade Sketching by Call Number: JQZ 13-586ISBN: 0870054384Publication Date: 1983
Essential Fashion Illustration by
This book's aim is to submerge the reader in the world of illustration. The first section ranges from how to start to draw a human figure to the techniques to stylize and synthesize it. This section provides a large amount of figures in different poses, as well as hands and feet-often the most difficult parts - in diverse postures and angles. However, in the field of fashion it is also essential to know how to draw fabric, and even more important to know how to draw the folds of clothing. The items of clothing are presented as much in technical drawing as in figures in movement, and forming light and shadow is also explained, as this gives quality to the illustration. The second part of the book revolves around color and the different techniques with which one can work: watercolor, wax, pastel, and so on. All the drawings that appear constitute a brief exhibition of the changes that the fashion world has experienced and with this in mind a path has been laid which starts in 1900, illustrated in watercolors, and finishes in 2000, illustrated in pencil. The goal of this volume is to uncover the reader's desire to paint and to provide him with some of the secrets that will encourage him to do so. After all, experience is the most effective way to learn, whatever the subject.
Call Number: JQZ 12-2346ISBN: 9781592532537Publication Date: 2006
Fashion Design Research: 2d Edition by
Every fashion collection begins with research. But how do you start? How do you use that research? Fashion Design Research answers these questions and demystifies the process. The book begins with the basics of primary and secondary research sources and shows students how and where to gather information. Chapters on colour, fabric and market research are followed by the final chapter on concept development, which shows how to gather all the information together, featuring one research project from beginning to end. This revised edition includes updated images and new case studies, plus more on ethics, sustainability and research methods.
Call Number: 746.9207 MISBN: 9781913947668Publication Date: 2022
Fashion Drawing in Vogue by
The celebration of the art of looking good has always demanded talent, vision, and style, and the artists recruited to fill the pages of Vogue since 1909--when it was taken over by Condé Nast-- have possessed these qualities in abundance. Their brilliant drawings chronicle not only fashion but also, with wit and delicacy, the whole comedy of manners that is the international social round.William Packer, painter, writer, and art critic, collected the best drawings from over seventy years of Vogue for this classic volume,which features work by hundreds of artists, including Edouard Benito, René Bouché, Salvador Dalí, Georges Lepape, Harriet Meserole, Douglas Pollard, and John Ward.
Call Number: 3-MME+ 00-12650ISBN: 0500275289Publication Date: 1997
The Fundamentals of Fashion Design by
The Fundamentals of Fashion Design provides a fully illustrated introduction to the key elements of fashion design, from the initial concept of a fashion idea to realizing it in 3D form. Writing with clarity and precision, Richard Sorger and Jenny Udale explain the entire fashion design process, including research and design, fabrics and their properties, construction methods and how to form and promote a collection. This third edition has been updated to include the latest design and construction techniques and stunning new visual examples. New and updated interviews with practitioners working for leading fashion brands offer key insights into succeeding in the industry today and a preface by fashion designer and instructor Shelley Fox introduces and contextualizes the new edition. Exercises also help readers to discover and experiment with design techniques first hand. Overall, this book is a rich and dynamic resource that will inspire readers to develop their own design work and embark on a career in fashion with confidence, proficiency and enthusiasm. FEATURED INTERVIEWS Mårten Andreasson, & Other Stories Alan Humphrey Bennett, Paul Smith Kristin Forss, Marni Barry Grainger, Timberland Louise Gray Peter Jensen Gahee Lim Winni Lok Michele Manz, Current/Elliott Chantal Williams, Old Navy
Call Number: TT508 .S67 2017ISBN: 9781474270007Publication Date: 2017
The Language of Fashion Design by
Learning a new discipline is similar to learning a new language; in order to master the foundation of fashion design, you must first master the basic building blocks of its language - the definitions, function, and usage. The Language of Fashion Design provides students and fashion designers with the basic elements of fashion design, divided into twenty-six easy-to-comprehend chapters. This visual reference includes an introductory, historical view of the elements, as well as an overview of how these elements can and have been used across multiple design disciplines. Whether you're new to the field or have been a fashion designer for years, you'll want to flip through the pages of this book throughout your career and use it as the go-to reference for inspiration, ideas, and reminders of how a strong knowledge of the basics allows for meaningful, memorable, and beautiful fashion that extends beyond trends. This comprehensive learning tool is the one book you'll want as a staple in your library.
Call Number: 746.92 VISBN: 9781592538218Publication Date: 2014
Research and Design for Fashion by
The ability to generate inspired ideas is vital in all creative industries, and nowhere is this more true than in the fast-paced and trend-driven fashion industry. A bestseller in both the UK and US, this fully revised third edition of Research and Design uniquely provides a handy and indispensable resource that will gently guide readers through the fashion design process. Comprising a complete toolkit of key need-to-know topics, Research and Design demonstrates how important fashion design research is to the creation of inspired designs and concepts. Topics explored include choosing themes, compiling research, using your sketchbook as a design tool, techniques for drawing, and collage, juxtaposition and deconstruction, as well as how to design from your research, design development, working with the colour wheel, and how to successfully communicate your ideas, fully equipping readers with all the knowledge and tools needed to embark on their own design projects. Now fully revised and updated with beautiful and inspiring new visuals from the studio, designers' portfolios, and the catwalk, as well as exciting new case studies, interviews with practising fashion designers, and practical exercises, Research and Design will show readers how to excel in carrying out professional fashion research and design.
Call Number: *R-SIBL TT507 .S425ISBN: 9781474246361Publication Date: 2016
Menswear
ABC of Men's Fashion by
A man should look as if he has bought his clothes with intelligence, put them on with care, and then forgotten all about them. For all menand indeed all women who are interested in mens clotheshere is an alphabetical guide to mens fashion written with wit and expert knowledge. From the etiquette of dressing for all occasions to the meaning of technical terms, Hardy Amiess skillful eye guides you safely through style decisions on everything from blazers and brogues to skiing and sandals. No man can afford to be without this classic style bible. EXHIBITION SCHEDULE: Victoria and Albert Museum, London, September 22, 2007January 6, 2008 Theres no such thing as adesigner of menswear-its only history. The suit around the world is based on the english suit, which began in about 1670. Any man, whether hes american, japanese, french or whatever, who wants to be seriously well dressed, looks to theenglishmans suitfor how to achieve it.fromabc of mens fashion
Call Number: TT618 .A65x 2007ISBN: 9780810994607Publication Date: 2007
The cut of men's clothes, 1600-1900 by Call Number: JQZ 12-5171ISBN: 9780571085941Publication Date: 1977
Des modes et des hommes : deux siècles d'élégance masculine by Call Number: JFF 96-3454Publication Date: 1993
Dress: how and why fashions in men's and women's clothes have changed during the past few hundred years. by Call Number: MMC+ (Laver, J. Dress)Publication Date: 1966
Dress optional: the revolution in menswear by Call Number: Bennett-England, Rodney Charles.ISBN: 072060110XPublication Date: 1967
Fashion and Masculinities in Popular Culture by
Popular culture in the latter half of the twentieth century precipitated a decisive change in style and body image. Postwar film, television, radio shows, pulp fiction and comics placed heroic types firmly within public consciousness. This book concentrates on these heroic male types as they have evolved from the postwar era and their relationship to fashion to the present day. As well as demonstrating the role of male icons in contemporary society, this book's originality also lies in showing the many gender slippages that these icons help to effect or expose. It is by exploring the somewhat inviolate types accorded to contemporary masculinity that we see the very fragility of a stable or rounded male identity.
Call Number: JQE 18-19ISBN: 9781138658684Publication Date: 2017
Fashioning Masculinities by
A visually stunning exploration of how fashion shapes ideas of masculinity At a moment of unprecedented creativity in men's fashion, and continuing reflections on gender, contemporary designers are questioning established forms, seeking to liberate wearers from traditional models of masculine dress. This book combines fashion with artistic and broader cultural histories - looking at the designers, tailors and artists who have constructed and performed masculinity from the Renaissance to the present day. It traces connections across and beyond European menswear, celebrating both rich traditions and daring individualists. Divided into three parts, Undressed reveals the role of the body and underwear in fashioning masculinities. Overdressed explores the power dynamics of sartorial bravado, while Redressed deconstructs a modern masculine uniform: the black suit. Featuring a staggering range of cultural touchstones from Hercules to Virgil Abloh, Giovanni Battista Moroni to Jawaharlal Nehru, Yves Saint Laurent to Kehinde Wiley, Marcus Rashford, Marlene Dietrich and even Captain America, Fashioning Masculinities challenges our preconceptions about menswear, revealing the fascinating historical roots beneath the power, artistry and diversity of masculine attire and appearance today. "Billy Porter's hot pink Golden Globes cloak and Harry Style's embroidered Gucci suits are set to have a fashion face-off with the Belvedere Apollo and Auguste Rodin in the V&A's upcoming exhibition dedicated to the evolution of menswear."--The Guardian on the exhibition "Key looks worn by fashion icons will also be interspersed throughout, from Harry Styles, Billy Porter and Sam Smith, to David Bowie and Marlene Dietrich, highlighting the multiplicities of masculine sartorial self-expression, dressing beyond the binary."--Women's Wear Daily on the exhibition
Call Number: 746.9208 FISBN: 9781838510114Publication Date: 2022
The Man of Fashion by
This volume puts male sexuality on the catwalk. It is a designed and illustrated celebration of men throught the ages who have dressed extravagently in order to show their power, to express their sexuality, to set themselves apart from the conformist herd - or simply out of joie de vivre.
Call Number: JQZ 13-594ISBN: 0500017972Publication Date: 1997
Reigning Men by
This fully illustrated book accompanies one of the most comprehensive exhibitions dedicated solely to three centuries of men's fashion. The fashionable male may be making a comeback, but early fashion trends centered around what men--not women--were wearing. This intriguing book traces the history of men's fashion since the 18th century, when young Englishmen imitated foreign dress and manners after touring the European continent. This phenomenon is only one of many explored in sections titled "Revolution/Evolution," "East/West," "Uniformity," "Body Consciousness," and "The Splendid Man." In addition to numerous illustrations of extant menswear, the book captures the 19th-century dandy, a more restrained brand of expensive elegance which became the hallmark of Savile Row; the post-WWII mod, who relished the colorful styles of Carnaby Street; and the 21st-century man--ultra-chic in a sleek suit by day, wearing a flowered tuxedo by night. Reigning Men illuminates connections between history and high fashion, traces cultural influences over the centuries, examines how uniforms have profoundly shaped fashionable dress, and reveals that women aren't the only ones who cinch and pad their bodies. Beautifully produced and lavishly illustrated, this eye-opening book will certainly appeal to men and women alike.
Call Number: JQG 16-719ISBN: 9783791355207Publication Date: 2016
Menswear Revolution by
In recent years, menswear has moved decisively center stage. Menswear Revolution investigates the transformation of men's fashion through the lens of shifting masculinities, examining how its increasing diversity has created new ways for men to explore and express their identities. Harnessing sustained market growth and creative dynamism on the runway, ground-breaking designers from Raf Simons and Hedi Slimane to Craig Green have revolutionized the discipline with their bold re-imaginings of the male wardrobe. Analysing the role of the media in shaping attitudes to men's fashion, Menswear Revolution studies how competing narratives of masculinity are reflected in popular discourse. Taking us from the mod and peacock revolutions of the 1960s to the new wave aesthetics of the 1980s, the book explores historical precedents for today's menswear scene - and looks at the evolution of the 'ideal' male body, from the muscular to the lean and boyish. Combining interviews with fashion professionals with close analyses of garments and advertising, Menswear Revolution provides an authoritative account of menswear design today. Highlighting its relationship to changing concepts of gender, the book provides a much-needed update to scholarship on masculinity, fashion and the body.
Call Number: JFE 18-7148ISBN: 9781474289009Publication Date: 2018
How to Read a Suit by
Fashion is ever-changing, and while some styles mark a dramatic departure from the past, many exhibit subtle differences from year to year that are not always easily identifiable. With overviews of each key period and detailed illustrations for each new style, How to Read a Suit is an authoritative visual guide to the under-explored area of men's fashion across four centuries. Each entry includes annotated color images of historical garments, outlining important features and highlighting how styles have developed over time, whether in shape, fabric choice, trimming, or undergarments. Readers will learn how garments were constructed and where their inspiration stemmed from at key points in history - as well as how menswear has varied in type, cut, detailing and popularity according to the occasion and the class, age and social status of the wearer. This lavishly illustrated book is the ideal tool for anyone who has ever wanted to know their Chesterfield from their Ulster coat. Equipping the reader with all the information they need to 'read' menswear, this is the ultimate guide for students, researchers, and anyone interested in historical fashion.
Call Number: JQF 20-668ISBN: 9781350071162Publication Date: 2020
The Men's Fashion Book by
'Is this the chicest coffee-table book ever printed? Quite possibly.' - Financial Times, How To Spend It The first-ever authoritative A-Z celebration of the 500 greatest names in men's fashion - 200 years of men's style through the work of designers, brands, photographers, icons, models, retailers, tailors, and stylists around the globe The Men's Fashion Book is an unparalleled A-Z deep-dive into the people and brands that have produced and inspired the most memorable looks in menswear - and are advancing today's renaissance in men's clothing and style. Created in collaboration with Jacob Gallagher, men's fashion editor at Off Duty for the Wall Street Journal, this stunning book with its striking cover design and red and black marker ribbons, documents more than two centuries of men's fashion, bringing its history to life through iconic, inspirational images, from traditional suits to streetwear, and beyond. Inside this ground-breaking book you'll find approximately 130 designers, 100 brands, 70 icons, 40 photographers, 40 footwear and accessory designers, 30 retailers, 25 stylists, editors, and writers, 20 tailors, 15 publications, 15 models, and 10 illustrators, as well as art directors, influencers, milliners, and textile designers. Arranged alphabetically, the 500 entries spotlight living legends such as Giorgio Armani and Paul Smith alongside today's most innovative creatives, including Ozwald Boateng, Alessandro Michele, Kim Jones, and Virgil Abloh, and cutting-edge brands such as Bode, Sacai, and Supreme. Following in the footsteps of Phaidon's globally acclaimed and bestselling The Fashion Book, this is the most comprehensive guide to the men's fashion world ever published.
Call Number: JFF 22-267ISBN: 9781838662479Publication Date: 2021
