Starting a Small Business: Books & E-Books

All the essential information in one place Starting a Business All-in-One For Dummies, 3rd Edition will help with every part of starting your own business--from legal considerations to business plans, bookkeeping, and beyond. This book covers the foundations of accounting, marketing, hiring, and achieving success in the first year of business in any industry.

The Small Business Start-Up Kit shows you how to set up a small business in your state and deal with state and local forms, fees, and regulations. The 12th edition is updated with the latest legal and tax rules affecting small businesses, plus social media and e-commerce trends.

Your one-stop guide to starting a small business. Want to start a business? Don't know where to begin? The Small Business Start-Up Kit shows you how to set up a small business in your state and deal with state and local forms, fees, and regulations.  We'll show you how to: * choose the right business structure, such as an LLC or corporation * write an effective business plan  * pick a winning business name and protect it  * get the proper licenses and permits * manage finances and taxes * hire and manage staff, and * market your business effectively, online and off *  downloadable forms. The 13th edition is updated with the latest legal and tax rules affecting small businesses, plus social media and e-commerce trends.

Business Buyout Agreements walks you through creating a buy-sell agreement--a sort of "premarital agreement" for your business--that protects everyone's interests. The book includes a fill-in buy-sell agreement that can be tailored for owners of corporations, LLCs, and partnerships.

This book includes common negotiating strategies, examples of contract provisions, sample contract clauses, entire contracts, and examples of illegal and dangerous contract clauses. You’ll know what to expect if you or the other side breaks a contract, find up-to-date explanations of electronic contracts, and tips on amending and modifying agreements. It is a must-have for small business owners, entrepreneurs, lawyers, and law students--and anyone else whose success is built around understanding and negotiating agreements.

Create solid contracts for your business as a small business owner. In this book, you will find the forms you need to start and grow your business. Each document comes with thorough, plain-English, line-by-line instructions to help you: write contracts, prepare corporate bylaws, prepare an LLC operating agreement, hire employees and consultants, create noncompete agreements, protect your trade secrets, record minutes of meetings, lease commercial space, buy real estate, borrow or lend money. The 12th edition has been thoroughly reviewed and updated by Nolo's experts and provides the most up-to-date legal information for small businesses. With downloadable forms, download and customize more than 65 forms to help you start and run your small business (details inside).

Despite what you've been told, there is no standard lease You've heard it already: "This is our standard lease--sign it." But often, you can negotiate what you need. And to do that, you'll need insight into the rules. Armed with Negotiate the Best Lease for Your Business, you'll find the advice and strategies you need when negotiating with an experienced landlord. This practical handbook explains how to: analyze your space needs find the ideal location understand the landlord's rent calculations learn how to negotiate your tenant improvement allowance (TIA) make sense of common area maintenance allocation suggest alternatives to hefty security deposits allocate the responsibility and cost of fixing up your space avoid costly code compliance and clean-ups, and save your lease if you can't live up to it now and then. The 4th edition provides the latest strategies for working with brokers and lawyers.

Learn to maximize your business deductions--quickly, easily, and legally. This book covers deductions for: start-up and operating expenses, travel and meals, home offices, medical expenses, equipment and inventory and more. Learn about new tax rules for deducting a net operating loss the expanded employee retention tax credit, and COVID-19 sick and family leave tax credits.

This book shows you how to deduct: start-up costs, home office expenses, vehicles, meals, travel expenses, medical expenses, and retirement expenses. The 18th edition covers amended and extended tax laws for business owners affected by the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

Small Business Taxes 2022 provides a complete listing of the available business expense deductions and tax credits, plus what's needed to qualify for them. It includes the most up-to-date information on current tax law and procedures, including information on the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) and the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021 (CAA). Find tax planning sample forms and checklists to help you get organized and prepare you to submit the most complete and proper filing.