Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art and Artifacts
Sc Artist file
Primary resources and miscellaneous material compiled by the Art and Artifacts division of the Schomburg Center.
Artifacts in the Collection
- AR.92.002.1 Louise engraving plate, n.d. (metal affixed to wood, engraved photo, 2.50 x 2.50 x 1)
- AR.92.002.2 Award (Mock up for the International Benin Award), n.d. (8 x 5.5 x 1")
Drawings in the Collection
- DR.81.002 The Troops are Coming …Get Ready, 1969 (Pen, ink and collage on paper, 15.5 x 18.5)
- DR.81.004 Untitled, n.d. (Ink on board, 15 x 12.5")
- DR.98.001.1 The Feast, 1979 (Graphite, pen and ink, image 10 x 8 ; 20 x 16 frame)
- DR.98.001.2 Spiritual Sculptural Forms (Breaking Bread Series), 1978 (Graphite, pen and ink, image 10 x 8 ; 20 x 16 frame)
Prints in the Collection
PR.82.006.10 Sculpture & Ochre, 1967 (27/40, Woodcut, 21.5 x 18.25)
PR.82.006.9 Queen, 1966 (27/40, Woodcut, 21.5 x 18.5)
PR.82.006.8 Jungle Rhythm, 1968 (27/40, Woodcut, 22.25 x 29)
PR.82.006.7 Fertility, 1967 (21/40, Woodcut, 24.5 x 19.5)
PR.82.006.6 Siena, 1965 (28/40, Woodcut, 21.5 x 11.75)
PR.82.006.5 Musicians Making the Harvest Grow, 1970 (27/40, Woodcut, 25.75 x 19)
PR.82.006.4 Confrontation, 1966 (27/40, Woodcut, 21 x 19)
PR.82.006.3 Burden of Injustice, 1968 (27/40, Woodcut, 21.75 x 28.5)
PR.82.006.2 Ancestor Energy, 1970 (27/40, Woodcut, 24.75 X 19.5)
PR.82.006.1 Mask of the Poro Society, 1968 (27/30, Woodcut, 30x22.5)
PR.98.014 Orionic Fragments II, 1997 (1/5, Collograph, 30x40")
PR.98.013 Orionic Fragments I, 1997 (1/5, Collograph, 30x40")
Paintings in the Collection
- PA.81.010 Untitled, ca. 1981 (Acryllic on board, 11 x 8.5")
Manuscripts Archives and Rare Book
Ademola Olugebefola papers, 1967-1990. by
Call Number: Sc Micro R-6653
Collection contains personal papers, 1968-1988, consisting primarily of files for cultural organizations on whose boards of directors Ademola served, such as Across Culture, Caribbean/American Cultural Exchange, and Society of Africans from America.
Note: Collection has been microfilmed and is available in the Jean Blackwell Hutson Research & Reference division
Jean Blackwell Hutson Research and Reference
Call Number: Sc +F 14-241
Publication Date: 2014-03-18
Over 100 works by African American artists and others from the 1960s Civil Rights Movement show powerful responses in art to events of black history.
Ademola Olugebefola featured on pages 139 and 141.
1968 then & now.
Call Number: Sc G 08-168
Publication Date: 2008
Published to accompany a multimedia exhibition organized by the Nathan Cummings Foundation and the Dept. of Photography and Imaging of the Tisch School of the Arts, and held at the Nathan Cummings Foundation 25 Sept.-20 Dec. 2008 and at the Gulf + Western Gallery 2 Sept.-20 Nov. 2008, and a symposium organized by the Tisch School of the Arts and held at Cooper Union Great Hall 20 Oct. 2008.
Ademola Olugebefola is a featured artist.
African American Art and Artists by
Call Number: Sc F 94-185
Publication Date: 2003-03-18
Samella Lewis has brought African American Art and Artists fully up to date in this revised and expanded edition. The book now looks at the works and lives of artists from the eighteenth century to the present, including new work in traditional media as well as in installation art, mixed media, and digital/computer art. Mary Jane Hewitt, an author, curator, and longtime friend of Samella Lewis's, has written an introduction to the new edition. Generously and handsomely illustrated, the book continues to reveal the rich legacy of work by African American artists, whose art is now included in the permanent collections of national and international museums as well as in major private collections.
Ademola is featured onpages 144-145.
The cool is gone by
Call Number: Sc D 82-215
Publication Date: 1979
Illustrated by Ademola Olugebefola