Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

What Can You Do at The Science, Industry and Business Library?: Access Research Collections

Overview of services, collections, and access to materials at The Science, Industry and Business Library, The New York Public Library. Guide by Madeleine Cohen.

Research Library Collections

As one of four research libraries of the New York Public Library, The Business Center collections are stored both onsite and offsite.  Most of the Business Center's collections are now electronic. 

For  access to research library databases you must be in the library. . . 

The Business Center has an open shelf reference collection which can be used onsite.

If you need older print volumes, microfilm,or microfiche, these materials are now located in the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building on Fifth Avenue and 42nd Street , or in the Library's remote storage facility ReCap.   

Please speak with a librarian before you visit the library if you are looking for older print collections, books, serials, or microforms.  .  .

Research collections are for onsite use. . 

Open shelf research materials are arranged by  Library of Congress classification, and have *R-SIBL as a prefix within their call numbers, and these can be taken off shelves for reading or study onsite without requests .