Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

What Can You Do at The Science, Industry and Business Library?: Access Materials in Other Libraries

Overview of services, collections, and access to materials at The Science, Industry and Business Library, The New York Public Library. Guide by Madeleine Cohen.

Access to materials in other libraries

If the books or journals you need are not available at the Business Library, or not in other locations of the New York Public Library, our librarians can help you find them in other locations or through Interlibrary Loan. 

Speak with a librarian at the Business Center Desk on the for more information about each program. 

METRO Referrals: Many academic libraries in the New York area belong to a network for referrals for books and journals. A librarian can check to find items in other locations and give you a METRO referral for use of materials in another library. 

Interlibrary Loan:  For materials not available locally, the library participates in Interlibrary loan programs which can deliver a book or article to New York Public library cardholders. 

Shared Research Collections Catalog: The New York Public Library, Columbia University, and Princeton University, all partners in the Research Collections and Preservation Consortium (ReCAP)—an off-site collection storage facility— recently launched a new resource sharing initiative: the ReCAP Shared Collection. This catalog, now in beta, includes all of NYPL's research collections as well as all ReCAP shared collection items. The new catalog enables cross-partner borrowing for items in the shared collections. 

The Manhattan Research Library Initiative (MaRLI) is a joint borrowing program between the New York Public Library, NYU and Columbiawhich serves as a means to expand access to our research collections in order to better serve our researchers.  The program offers approved NYPL cardholders with a demonstrable research need the ability to access and borrow materials unavailable at NYPL from NYU and Columbia. Speak with a librarian if you are a researcher interested in applying to the MaRLI program. .