Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide to the Schomburg Center's Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Books Division: History

This guide is designed to help new researchers get comfortable conducting research in the Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Books Division of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.

History of the Schomburg Center

The Division of Negro Literature, History and Prints -- the forerunner to today's Schomburg Center -- opened in 1925 as a special collection of the 135th Street Branch library to meet the needs of a changing community.

In 1926, the New York Public Library purchased Arturo Alfonso Schomburg's collection of art, artifacts, manuscripts, visual materials, books and pamphlets for $10,000; this addition greatly enhanced the holdings of the Negro Division. Within that collection were an estimated 4,056 books and pamphlets.

Schomburg served as curator of the Division from 1932 until his death in 1938.

In 1940, the Division was renamed the Schomburg Collection of Negro Literature, History and Prints in honor of its founder. In 1972, the Schomburg Collection was designated as one of The Research Libraries of the New York Public Library and became the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.

Bibliography

Schomburg Collections