Find company information and create a list of companies on the Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA) database.
The Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA) database is temporarily accessible from home with your NYPL card and PIN.
For more information on using this database, visit the Business Center Database Guides: Reference Solutions (Reference USA) research guide.
See below for more details.
- Reference Solutions
Reference Solutions, formerly known as Reference USA, provides addresses, sales information, executives, for over 16 million verified businesses, and now includes job listings. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Creating a list of companies using the U.S. Businesses module.
The U.S. Businesses module part of Reference Solutions, formerly Reference USA, allows you to research company information and compile a list of companies.
First, connect to the database.
Enter your library card number and PIN.
Choose the U.S. Businesses module.
If you want to find out information about a specific company and already know its name and its headquarters' location, do a Quick Search.
However, if you need to create a list of companies in a specific industry and limit it to a geographic location, do an Advanced Search.
First Example
Second Example
Third Example
Fourth Example
View Company Results
Results Page
For more information on using this database, visit the Business Center Database Guides: Reference Solutions (Reference USA) research guide.