Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives & Manuscripts Research at NYPL: Home

Helpful resources for archival collections

Guides

There are many places to study archives and unpublished material throughout NYPL

476 Fifth Avenue (42nd St and Fifth Ave)
Brooke Russell Astor Reading Room for Rare Books a

Room 328, the Brooke Russell Astor Reading Room for Rare Books and Manuscripts, serving archival holdings from the Manuscripts and Archives Division and the George A. Arents Collection

Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature

Room 320, serving the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature

Pforzheimer Collection of Shelley and His Circle

Room 319, serving the Carl H. Pforzheimer Collection of Shelley and His Circle​

Prints and Photographs Study Room

Room 308, the Prints and Photographs Study Room, serving manuscripts held in the Spencer Collection

Dorot Jewish Division

Room 111, serving unpublished materials from the Dorot Jewish Division

 

515 Malcolm X Boulevard (135th St and Malcolm X Blvd)
Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Books Reading Room

Second floor, serving materials from the Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Books Division

 

40 Lincoln Center Plaza (65th St and Columbus Ave)

Library for the Performing Arts

Third floor, the Katharine Cornell-Guthrie McClintic Special Collections Reading Room, serving archival material held by the Billy Rose Theatre Division, the Jerome Robbins Dance Division the Music Division, the Rogers and Hammerstein Archives of Recorded Sound, and Theatre on Film and Tape Archive