Databases
Databases available at New York Public Library research centers and branches. Also available remotely with a New York Public Library card and password.
- African American Periodicals 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and page images of over 170 periodicals, published in 26 states, by and about African Americans. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, and annual reports. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of Readex/Newsbank. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical information on 650,000+ people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines. For more in-depth biographies of figures from American history, consult American National Biography. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and page images of the leading Black newspaper of the 20th century. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
New York Public Library: Digital/Electronic Resources
- The forged note: a romance of the darker racesDigital format of Oscar Micheaux's book "The forged note: a romance of the darker races" (1915)
- Fire and desire: mixed-race movies in the silent era by
This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2001 
Oscar Micheaux and his circle: African-American filmmaking and race cinema of the silent era by - This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: c2001. (Baltimore, Md. : Project MUSE, 2015)- Straight lick: the cinema of Oscar Micheaux by
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2000
Performing Arts Research Collection - Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center
- Lying Lips by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: VC 792.9 LPublication Date: Original production: c1939.A nightclub singer is unjustly convicted and sent to prison for the murder of her aunt.
Stephen A. Schwarzman Building
- The 1910s in America by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: *R-USLHG E761 .A191 2019 v.2Publication Date: 2019
NYPL - circulating materials
With a Crooked Stick--The Films of Oscar Micheaux by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: 792.9 Micheaux GISBN: 0253217156Publication Date: 2004-03-18
Pioneers of African-American cinema by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: DVD 792.9 PPublication Date: 2016
