Art and Artifacts
Please contact the division to make an appointment.
Artifacts:
- 11 stamps of various texts
- Stereoplate with proof for The Masquerade
Posters:
- Case of Mrs. Wingate
- Story of Dorothy Stanfield
- The Masquerade
- Montclair African American Film Festival
Note: All items are a separation from the Oscar Micheaux papers in the Manuscripts Archives and Rare Book Division.
Jean Blackwell Hutson Research and Reference: Biographies
Faces in the Mirror by 
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Sc D 15-291ISBN: 9781935517511Publication Date: 2010-03-01
Oscar Micheaux: the Great and Only by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Sc E 07-769ISBN: 0060731397Publication Date: 2007-06-12
Oscar Micheaux and His Circle by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Sc F 16-421ISBN: 9780253021359Publication Date: 2016-03-28
Spike Lee's Bamboozled and Blackface in American Culture by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Sc D 19-785ISBN: 9781476678634Publication Date: 2019-05-20
Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books
- Oscar Micheaux papers.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Sc MG 972The Oscar Micheaux papers consist of professional correspondence, financial records, handwritten scenarios and typed dialogues for his films, galleys and proofs of published work. Additonally, there are ephemeral items, clippings, prospectuses, and other forms of advertising for his works. - The forged note : a romance of the darker races by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Sc Rare Fic-M (Micheaux, O. Forged note)Publication Date: 1915Microfilm service copy available in the Jean Blackwell Hutson Research and Reference division - The homesteader : a novel by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Sc Rare Fic-M (Micheaux, O. Homesteader)Publication Date: 1917
- Full text available via HathiTrust
This link opens in a new window
Jean Blackwell Hutson Research and Reference: Books by Oscar Micheaux
- The conquest; the story of a Negro pioneer. By the pioneer. by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Sc B-Micheaux (Micheaux, O. Conquest) c.2Publication Date: 1913Copy 2 is part of the original collection purchased from Arthur A. Schomburg in 1926 - The masquerade, an historical novel, by Oscar Micheaux
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Sc Fic (Micheaux, O. Masquerade)Publication Date: 1947Available on microfilm in: Sc Micro R-4780 - The story of Dorothy Stanfield : based on a great insurance swindle, and a woman! by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Sc Fic (Micheaux, O. Story of Dorothy Stanfield)ISBN: 46002507Publication Date: 1946
Photographs and Prints
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Photographs and Prints Division, The New York Public Library. (1910 - 1930). Oscar Micheaux
- The Brute motion picture stills collection
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Sc Photo Motion pictures - The Homesteader motion picture stills collection
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Sc Photo Motion picturesPublication Date: Photographed 1919, printed later - Murder in Harlem motion picture stills collection
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Sc Photo Motion pictures - Oscar Micheaux portrait collection
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Sc Photo Micheaux, Oscar - Within our gates motion picture stills collection
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Sc Photo Motion picturesPublication Date: Photographed 1920, printed later.
Moving Image and Recorded Sound
- All together now. Black filmmakers hall of fame. byCall Number: Sc Visual DVD-823Publication Date: 1979-03