Social Security
What is Social Security? (Investopedia)
"Social Security is the term used for the Old-Age, Survivors, and Disability Insurance (OASDI) program in the United States, run by the Social Security Administration (SSA), which is a federal agency. While best known for retirement benefits, it also provides survivor benefits and disability income. It is independent of a lump-sum pension."
Social Security Administration
- Benefit Planner: Retirement
"This planner provides detailed information about your Social Security retirement benefits under current law." - my Social Security
"With your free, personal my Social Security account, you can receive personalized estimates of future benefits based on your real earnings, see your latest Statement, and review your earnings history." - Retirement Estimator
"The Retirement Estimator gives estimates based on your actual Social Security earnings record. Please keep in mind that these are just estimates." - Course: Introduction Social Security
"This course provides a brief overview of SSA, and includes an explanation of the Agency, the coverage, and the benefits." - Retirement Benefits FAQs
- Publications
Retirement Toolkit
A joint publication of the Department of Labor, the Social Security Administration and the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, this guide covers planning for Social Security and Medicare.
Top Questions About Social Security (www.usa.gov)
"Find answers to common questions about Social Security, including retirement and disability benefits, how to get, replace, or correct your Social Security card, and more."
Answers to 100 Frequently Asked Questions about Social Security Retirement Benefits for Married People, Divorcees, Dependents and Survivors by
Please Note: Although the "Answers" in this book are drawn from the SSA website and publications, this book is not published, authorized, or endorsed by the Social Security Administration. The first book in this series, Answers to the 100 Frequently Asked Questions About Social Security Retirement Benefits, is a primer on how to apply for benefits based on your own work record--explaining eligibility, when and how to apply, how your benefits are calculated, and what you need to report to Social Security once you are in the program. The response to this title indicated the need for additional information for anyone applying for benefits based on someone else's work record. Now, ANSWERS TO 100 FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT SOCIAL SECURITY BENEFITS FOR MARRIED PEOPLE, DIVORCEES, DEPENDENTS, AND SURVIVORS reports in depth on "Auxiliary Benefits," which are based on someone else's work record that may be worth more than the benefits you are entitled to on your own work record, or that you may be entitled to even if you have never worked. The rules and regulations for Auxiliary Benefits are changing rapidly, as those in same sex marriages, civil unions, domestic partnerships, and other non-marital relationships become eligible for spousal benefits.
Call Number: 368.43 AISBN: 1566494028Publication Date: 2020-07-07
Social Security Handbook 2019 by
The Social Security Handbook: Overview of Social Security Programs, 2018 provides information about Social Security programs and services, and identifies rights and obligations under the Social Security laws.The completely updated Handbook, organized by section number, is a readable, easy-to-understand reference for comprehending complex Social Security programs and services and contains information on several topics relevant to Social Security policies: -How Social Security programs are administered -Who is and isn't covered under retirement, survivors, disability, and hospital insurance programs -Who is responsible for submitting the necessary evidence to support a claim -How claims are processed by the Social Security office -What Social Security benefits are owed to you -How to obtain information about your rights under Social Security policy The Handbook is designed to help users understand the gray areas of the Social Security Act, and to provide critical information about rights and obligations under Social Security laws. The Handbook outlines how to: -Protect your benefits and avoid benefit loss; -Monitor government agencies and get information about policy changes that will affect your benefits; -Make the most of hospital and Medicare coverage; -Determine the amount of benefits that are subject to federal income taxes; -Check Social Security earnings and benefits; and -Get up-to-date news about future Social Security programs and services.
Call Number: LG PRINT 368.43 SISBN: 1641433272Publication Date: 2019-04-30
Social Security for Dummies by
Get the benefits you've earned. Social Security For Dummies is the one guide you need to navigate the often-complex world of Social Security retirement benefits. This updated edition offers clear guidance on when to claim benefits, how much you can expect to receive, where to find Social Security calculators, and more.
Call Number: 368.43 PISBN: 9781119375739Publication Date: 2017-10-16
Making Social Security Work for You by
An up-to-date guide to getting the most out of Social Security under the new regulations that took effect on April 29, 2016. Despite reports of Social Security's impending bankruptcy, Social Security remains an important part of most Americans' retirement plans. But will it be enough? Making Social Security Work for You teaches you what you need to know about Social Security retirement benefits and the options you can choose to help meet your retirement goals. In straightforward, easy-to-understand language, this compact guide provides advice on the advantages and disadvantages of delaying benefits as well as the best ways to maximize your benefits depending on your financial or marital situation. Featuring a glossary of terms to help you better understand Social Security jargon; a full explanation on how the system works under the new regulations that took effect on April 29, 2016; and practical, actionable advice on how and when to save additional retirement funds, this book shows you how to make your retirement the best it can possibly be. "Guy Birken brings her breezy style to explaining a system that can be mind-numbing." --The Washington Post
Call Number: 368.43 BISBN: 144059337XPublication Date: 2016-06-04
Social Security 101 by
Social Security 101 cuts out the tedious explanations and instead provides a hands-on lesson that keeps you engaged as you learn all you need to know about the federal program that's been around since the Great Depression. From the history of social security to its likely role in the future, this primer is packed with hundreds of entertaining tidbits and concepts that will keep you engaged as you learn how to maximize your benefits. So whether you want to learn about calculating your retirement age or estimating your projected payments, Social Security 101 has all the answers--even the ones you didn't know you were looking for.
ISBN: 9781440599231Publication Date: 2016-10-01
Get What's Yours by
Social Security law has changed! Get What’s Yours has been revised and updated to reflect new regulations that took effect on April 29, 2016.
Call Number: 368.43 KISBN: 9781476772318Publication Date: 2015-02-17
