Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research in the Billy Rose Theatre Division: Overview

A guide to assist finding and using materials in the Billy Rose Theatre Division

Virtual Reference Consultations

Materials in the Theatre Division's general research collections (books and periodicals) can now be accessed without an appointment on the 3rd floor of the Library for the Performing Arts. Hours are Monday to Saturday 11:30am to 4:30pm. Special collections materials still require an appointment in the Special Collections reading room, which is open Monday to Saturday 11:30am to 4:15pm. To make an appointment, email theatre@nypl.org or request a virtual consultation with a Theatre Division librarian.

REQUEST A VIRTUAL CONSULTATION NOW

Email us at theatre@nypl.org with any questions.

Remote Research Resources

The Theatre Division's circulating collection materials can be requested through the NYPL online catalog for pick-up at any NYPL's location. For more information about how to request these materials, please visit https://www.nypl.org/about/requests.

All remote services, such as Scan & Deliver, will continue to be available. Requests for electronic copies of Theatre Division materials can be made through the LPA Research Copy Orders form.

The NYPL has over 800 databases available at https://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases - some are always available from outside the Library, and some must be accessed at an NYPL location. Those that are available only within the Library are designated by an icon of the Library Lion, those that are available from home have a small blue house next to them.

This guide is designed to help you do Theatre, Film and Television research remotely using NYPL resources and other resources available on the Internet. 

We've included

  • tabs for Theatre and Film databases that may be useful
  • a tab for General databases that you might not have considered would be helpful
  • a tab for E-books and audiobooks that may be borrowed from the library with a NYPL card

As always, the Theatre Division reference staff are available via email. Contact us at theatre@nypl.org


You may be asked to enter a library card to access a site or borrow a book.

If you live in NY State & don't have a NYPL library card, you can apply for one and use it immediately!

New York state residents are welcome to apply for a library card through the SimplyE app—and gain access to an array of digital resources, including e-books, audiobooks, databases, and more. New applicants can visit their local NYPL branch to obtain and validate their physical library card.

Reference Librarians

Profile Photo
Billy Rose Theatre Division Reference Librarians
Contact:
40 Lincoln Center Plaza (65th St and Columbus Ave)
Third Floor
New York, NY 10023
(212) 870-1639
Website
Social: Twitter Page