Jean Blackwell Hutson Research and Reference Division & NYPL
The Schomburg Center and the New York Public Library offerers a wide variety of resources that document people of African descent in protest across the research libraries including research guides, databases, books, zines, and more. To find additional resources, check the NYPL catalog, or the NYPL Archives Portal.
Periodicals & Serials
The New York Public Library provides access to a variety of both historical and contemporary Newspapers and Periodicals. The full list can be located on our website.
Online Resources:
- The 1619 Project
- African Newspapers, 1800-1922 (access with NYPL card)
- New York Times (1851-2015) w/ Index
- New York Times (1980-present)
Print Resources
- Freedomways (available in print)
- The Black Panther newspaper (available in print)
Databases
African American Historical Serials Collection
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
ProQuest Historical African American Newspapers
Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Online Resources
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Accessible with NYPL card)
Slavery and Manumission Manuscripts of Timbuktu (Accessible at NYPL)
African America, Communists, and the National Negro Congress, 1933-1947 (Accessible with NYPL card)
Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress (Accessible with NYPL card)
Microfilm
Collections and Documents on Microfilm
Microfilm readers allow researchers to view select archival materials on a computer screen.
- Right on the Scaffold, or The Martyrs of 1822- Sc Micro R-6663
- Slavery and the Abolition of the Slave Trade Collection Sc Micro R-1520
- Papers of the Civil Rights Congress Sc Micro R-6616
Schomburg Center Scrapbooks on Microfilm
The Schomburg Center Scrapbooks are a collection of 296 volumes assembled by library staff between the 1920s and 1960s, to supplement the collection of Black history. The scrapbooks are organized by topic and consist primarily of newspaper clippings, unless otherwise noted.
Books on Slave Revolts
Books on Civil Rights Protests
Books on Black Power Protests
Books on LGBTQ+ Protest
Contemporary Books on Black Protest
Books on Black International Protest
NYPL Reading Lists & Research Guides
Reading Lists
Black Liberation Reading List for Adults
Black Liberation Reading List for Teens
Black Liberation Reading List for Kids
Research Guides
Black Feminism Introductory Research Guide
Black Power Exhibition Resource Guide
Exploring Black LGBTQ Studies in the Schomburg Center's Archive
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Jean Blackwell Hutson Research and Reference Division, The New York Public Library. "A Tuskegee student." New York Public Library Digital Collections.