Try these sources for industry surveys/profiles. Most are for use in the library only, but some may be accessed at home with a library card. Please see below.
- Business Insights: EssentialsClick on "Industries" tab and select "All Industries" or "Industry Essays" or "Plunkett Reports" to find industry surveys. Note: This database is accessible from home with an NYPL library card.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowTo find industry profiles use the Advanced Search option. Type a keyword to describe the industry and then limit your results by "publication type" to Industry Profile. This database includes Worldwide Industry Market reports from C. Barnes & Co. and MarketLine reports. This database is accessible from home with a library card.
- Mergent IntellectUse the module "First Research" for Industry Profiles.
Mergent Intellect main directory lists companies in the US and Global, and US residents. - IBISWorldThis database is available in the Business Center only. Downloading is NOT permitted, but printing of individual sections of reports is allowed. IBISWorld includes industry and market research for the US, Global reports, and China.
- Mergent ArchivesClick to Search the Mergent Archives. On the next screen, from the tabbed choices along the top of screen, select either "Industry Reports" for Mergent Reports, or click "First Research" tab to find the PDF's of the First Research Industry Surveys.
- Plunkett Research OnlinePlunkett Research is temporarily available for remote use with a NYPL Library card. Enter your barcode and PIN to connect. Next, Click on the box labeled "Subscribers Login" to get info the database.
Industry trends, market research and trends organized in 32 industry research centers. Find statistics, industry data, company contacts, organizations, market trends and more. Use the Build -a-report feature to create and download or email reports. - S&P Capital IQ (Standard and Poor's Capital IQ)Click the tab for Industry Surveys. These CFRA Industry Surveys were formerly titled: S&P Industry Surveys and formerly issued in print. Click the "+" to enlarge to view a full page or display the full PDF.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data, industry reports and dossiers for 170+ industries, ecommerce directory, and consumer insights. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Also try:
- Gale eBooksUse this database to access the Encyclopedia of American Industries. You can print, download and e-mail the articles.