Nelson Mandela Resource Guide: Moving Image and Recorded Sound Division

A review of Nelson Mandela's 1990 visit to America. The program discusses the parallels between the American civil rights movement and the struggle against apartheid, the merchandizing of the visit, Mandela's solidarity with the American labor movement, the continuing struggle in South Africa, Winnie Mandela's views and the media coverage of the visit. Includes numerous excerpts of Mandela's speeches in America, including those in Georgia, Detroit and Boston as well as scenes and interviews with residents in South Africa.

The authorized behind-the-scenes look at Nelson Mandela's triumphant visit to the United States. Provides an insider's view of the most memorable public and private moments of his trip and his message on the fight against apartheid.

This video recording contains rare footage smuggled out of South Africa, insightful interviews with the principal players, plus the uncensored and unedited first speech Mandela gave upon his release from prison.

This video recording is coverage of Nelson Mandela's visit to New York City, June 20, 1990. Scenes of Mandela's arrival at Kennedy Airport, at Boys and Girls High School in Brooklyn, during the ticker tape parade and at City Hall are presented in between segments on other tours by Mandela since his release from prison, the N.Y. organizing effort, Mandela's political objectives, domestic (U.S.) political controversies resulting from the visit and local sanctions enforced in N.Y.C. against South Africa.

American filmmaker Thomas Allen Harris embarks on a journey to understand his South African stepfather: Pule Benjamin "Lee" Leinaeng, a member of the African National Congress who fought against apartheid as an international journalist.

This program forms part of the Communications Excellence to Black Audiences (CEBA)--Award collection, a competition sponsored by the World Institute of Black Communications, inc. Originally broadcast on the television news program.

Audio tapes of speeches given by Bishop Crowther at the Pacem in Terris II conference, held in Geneva, Switzerland, in 1967.

Discusses the TV program, South Africa now, and apartheid in South Africa. At a time when media censorship was in force in South African during white-minority rule, a new television program was launched that would challenge the government's policy of apartheid. Retraces the origins of the program and the political environment in South Africa when the show was founded and how the situation changed over the years. Covers the release from prison of Nelson Mandela and his subsequent travels and political activity.

Six documentary stories on video recording chronicling the history of the global anti-apartheid movement that took on both the South African government and its international supporters, who considered South Africa an ally in the Cold War.

Video recording that looks at apartheid in South Africa and disinvestment by the state of New Jersey. This program forms part of the Communications Excellence to Black Audiences (CEBA)--Award collection, a competition sponsored by the World Institute of Black Communications, inc.

Amina Cachalia discusses her political life and work in South Africa. Early political, anti-apartheid involvement; founding of Federation of South African Women, the women involved and its activities; women's march on the Prime Minister, August 9, 1956 to protest the pass laws; Federation of Transvaal Women and its leaders; Mrs. Albertina Sisulu's work; work of the South African Indian Congress; Amina and husband Yusef's involvement in 1952 Defiance Campaign, her imprisonment and subsequent banning; banning procedure described; friendship with Nelson Mandela, their visit with in him in July 1988; final comment on status of blacks in America.

South Africans discuss their lives under apartheid. Program written by Robert Okara, Leonard Dixon, Rita Hodgeson, Ewan McColl, Peggy Seeger, Thaba Mbeki, Nicoline Legodu, Jean Muller, Mrs. Nobadvla, Lionel Ngakane, Andrew Salkey, Alfred Hutchinson, Yusuf Dadoo, and Zakes Mokae. South African protest songs are sung throughout.

Howard Dodson, former director of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture moderates a panel discussion about ways of ending the system of apartheid in South Africa.

A meeting sponsored by the Human Rights Panel of The American Society of International Law. This program deals with the country of South Africa and its policies of racial discrimination. Participants include an exiled attorney and a professor of law who is still a citizen of South Africa. Areas covered include the racial make-up of South Africa, a definition of apartheid, the policy of rigid racial separation, exploitation and police state tactics, their laws and the legality and codification of apartheid, American concern for the situation, the uniqueness of South Africa as the only country in the world that legislates racial discrimination, and a look to the future and possible solutions to the problem.

A channel 10 news special report on apartheid in South Africa. Harvey Clark reports from South Africa after the release of Nelson Mandela. Includes interviews with Soweto, Afrikaner and Capetown residents about the the current living conditions in South Africa and the changes to come.

Interviews with five women living under apartheid in various locations throughout South Africa: in an "ethnic reserve" in the barren interior; in a women's barrack in Alexandria; in a Black ghetto in Soweto; in a white suburb of Johannesburg and in the Crossroads shanty-town near Capetown. Also includes brief interviews with Winnie Mandela and other women involved in the anti-apartheid movement in South Africa.

Nineteenth and twentieth century anti-apartheid protest songs are analyzed chronologically, including presentations of the songs themselves.