What is private equity?
Private equity is capital invested in a company or other entity that is not publicly listed or traded. Venture capital is funding given to startups or other young businesses that show potential for long-term growth. Use this guide to locate resources to help you learn about the venture capital and private equity industry. Resources include websites, databases, news, and more. Just click on the appropriate tab to find the type of resource you would like to use.
Websites
Entrepreneur Annual list of the most active venture capital firms funding U.S. startups.neur
Khan Academy Hedge funds, venture capital, and private equity.
WSJ Private Beat provides an inside view of the latest buyout deals and emerging trends in the world of private equity. Staff writers give insight and perspective on the flow of private capital on Wall Street and around the world.
Crunchbase Freely available, crowd sourced database for tracking start-ups, investors, & more.
Databases
- S&P Capital IQ (Standard and Poor's Capital IQ)Used by professional and individual investors. | Includes extensive information about individual companies including complete financial statements, management, supply chain analyses, fixed income securities and more. Allows searching over hundreds of different data points. Includes constituents and pricing for worldwide indices, information on Private Equity and Venture Capital firms, Industry Surveys, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Guide, and Standard & Poor's Register. Also includes The Outlook
- LinkedIn Learning (formerly lynda.com)Investment Funds: Managed Funds, Private Equity Funds, and Hedge Funds. What is private equity? From pitching to investors.
- IBISWorldIBISWorld publishes reports on industries in the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, and China. Reports include Venture Capital & Principal Trading in the US and Private Equity, Hedge Funds & Investment Vehicles in the US
- ZephyrContains data on M&A activity, IPOs, joint ventures and private equity deals with links to detailed financial company information. Coverage past January 2003 is global, with earlier coverage focusing on Europe.
- PrivCo
Please note: Library patrons must create an account with their name and email address to access PrivCo. It is available for use in the Business Center only, and monthly account limits will apply. PrivCo is a premier resource for financial data on 900,000 private companies, non-publicly traded corporations, family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed & international unlisted companies. This database can only be accessed on library computers in the Business Center and cannot be accessed through Wi-Fi on a personal device. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Videos
Associations
- National Venture Capital Association (NVCA) Includes Industry overview and membership list.
- Angel Capital Association is the official industry alliance of over 100 of the largest angel investor groups in the United States.
- Small Business Investor Alliance is the premier organization of lower middle-market private equity funds and investors. Our members provide vital capital to small and medium sized businesses nationwide, resulting in economic growth and job creation.