What is a hedge fund?
Investor.gov: Hedge funds pool money from investors and invest in securities or other types of investments with the goal of getting positive returns. Hedge funds are not regulated as heavily as mutual funds and generally have more leeway than mutual funds to pursue investments and strategies that may increase the risk of investment losses. Hedge funds are limited to wealthier investors who can afford the higher fees and risks of hedge fund investing, and institutional investors, including pension funds.
Print Resources
Institutional Investor (the US and International Edition) Includes rankings such as The Hedge Fund 100, Hedge Fund Compensation Report, Hedge Fund Top Analysts, The Fund of Hedge Funds 50, Hedge Fund All American (and All Europe) Research Team.
Journal of Alternative Investments Official publication of the Chartered Alternative Investment Analyst Association; expert analysis on managing alternative investments.
Guide to Hedge Funds by
In 1990 hedge funds managed some 39 billion of assets and were almost unknown. By 2008 that figure had grown to almost 2 trillion and hedge funds were being blamed by some for contributing to the credit crunch and demonized by others for their greed. The rise of the industry has created a new bunch of billionaires, who have made themselves rich by managing other people's money. Nowadays most people have heard the term 'hedge fund' but few are clear about what exactly a hedge fund is or what it does. This guide aims to put them in the picture with the clarity and lively prose that The Economist is famous for. It provides a succinct survey of the industry for all those who think they should know about hedge funds, but do not. It is aimed at all those who might want or have to deal with a hedge fund: private investors, trustees of a pension fund, directors of a listed company, lawyers and accountants who may be interested in working in the industry. It is also aimed at those who happily criticize hedge funds without really knowing what they do.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781610395090Publication Date: 2014-02-25
Journal & News Articles
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to top scholarly business journals dating back as far as 1886. Popular titles available include: Harvard Business Review, Journal of Financial and Quantitive Analysis, and Journal of Finance.
- EconLit with Full TextProvides coverage of the most sought-after economics publications from around the world and includes: peer-reviewed journal articles, working papers from leading universities, PhD dissertations, books, collective volume articles, conference proceedings, and book reviews.
- FactivaIncludes same-day and archival coverage of The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The Globe and Mail, and Barron's. Also features international newspapers and major newswires.
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
Full text of the Wall Street Journal, 1984-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Database
- PrivCo
Please note: Library patrons must create an account with their name and email address to access PrivCo. It is available for use in the Business Center only, and monthly account limits will apply. PrivCo is a premier resource for financial data on 900,000 private companies, non-publicly traded corporations, family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed & international unlisted companies. This database can only be accessed on library computers in the Business Center and cannot be accessed through Wi-Fi on a personal device. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- S&P Capital IQ (Standard and Poor's Capital IQ)Offers the latest data on commodities futures, as well as forecasts. Capital IQ surveys precious metals; non-precious metals; oil and gas; refined products; energy; industrial products; fibers; grains; oil seeds; foodstuff; and livestock.
- LinkedIn Learning (formerly lynda.com)Investment Funds: Managed Funds, Private Equity Funds, and Hedge Funds.
Historical Print Titles
- Institutional Investor's alpha - JBM 14-59 (2013 - 2017) | AR : Absolute return + Alpha [electronic resource] | Continues: AR : Absolute Return + Alpha | JBM 09-159 (2009 - 2012) | Alpha | JBM 06-87 (Nov. 2005 - 2009)
-
Barron's (http://www.barrons.com/) | Barron’s National Business and Financial Weekly. *ZAN-T920 Delivery Desk Lib. has May 1921- date. From 2008 available in Proquest Digital Microfilm (Electronic Resource). | Last issues of the month include hedge fund summary information.
-
Directory of Fund of Hedge Funds |JBM 08-36 (2007 & 2009) | Industry overview, statistical analysis of featured fund of hedge funds, rankings, Barclay Fund of Funds indices, summary information of funds investment objectives, top ten holdings.
Videos
Websites
Hedge Fund Investing & Regulation - CFA Institute: This provides fund investors with assurance that the information on which they base their decisions is accurate and reliable.
Hedge Fund Resources: Here you will find a useful list of hedge fund resources including some basic information for those beginning their hedge fund education, organizations and associations, hedge fund publications and news sources, indexes, and research tools.
khan academy: Overview of how hedge funds are different than mutual funds.