Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introduction to Polish Genealogy: Geographical Resources

Strategies and resources to research your Polish family history.

Geographical Resources

Civil and church records, as well as archival collections, are organized by geographic location. An important first step to locating these records is to determine your ancestors' town of origin. This can be further complicated by language and border changes, which means its important to consult resources like maps, gazetteers, atlases, guidebooks, and town directories. 

Maps

Map of Polonia

Polonia

IndexLionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division, The New York Public Library. "Polonia." The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1603. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47e4-6671-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

1681 Map of Poland

Map of Poland, 1681

IndexLionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division, The New York Public Library. "Poland." The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1681. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47e1-ceb7-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

Poland and its dismemberments and Prussia, 1798

IndexLionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division, The New York Public Library. "Poland with its dismemberments and Prussia" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1798 - 1804. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/14696ab0-ab0c-0137-ca82-1dc435b9c9f5

1814 Map of Poland

Map of Poland, 1814

IndexLionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division, The New York Public Library. "Poland" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1814. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47e1-cbb2-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

Resources