Introduction
Tracing Polish ancestry can be challenging, especially navigating border changes, language barriers, and political turmoil. This guide aims to provide introductory historical context and strategies to research Polish family history. Primarily focused on NYPL collections, this guide also includes information about geographical resources, an overview of naming conventions, language help, and tips about accessing international records.
This guide features tips and resources for accessing information resources, including links to print and digital collections accessible at The New York Public Library (NYPL). Access to some databases requires that you have a NYPL library card - you can apply for one online or at any branch of The New York Public Library.
- Apply for a Library Card
- SimplyE: Download NYPL’s e-reader app to access e-books and audiobooks—all for free.
Look for books, microfilm, periodicals, archive collections, and more at NYPL Classic Catalog
Search archive and manuscript collections, including Family Files, at archives.nypl.org and the NYPL Classic Catalog.
Explore maps, photographs, city directories, and other digital resources free online at NYPL Digital Collections
Search for genealogy databases and other online resources at NYPL Articles & Databases: Genealogy
Sign up for an online genealogy class at NYPL and access additional research guides and blogs at www.nypl.org/locations/divisions/milstein
Research from Home
The Library's Research Collections and Services are available remotely to help researchers access information and materials.
- Request scans of materials via our expanded Scan and Deliver services
- Schedule a virtual consultation
About
The Irma and Paul Milstein Division of United States History, Local History and Genealogy collects publications documenting American history on the national, state, and local levels, including extensive holdings on New York City history. The Division has a renowned collection of family histories and other genealogical collections, with a particular focus on the New York region. Included in the collections are published works from the New York Genealogical and Biographical Society library, photographs, vertical files, postcards, and other visual ephemera.
Got questions? Our research librarians are here to help! Send us an email at history@nypl.org, or click the link in the profiles on this page. Or, set up a virtual appointment.
Reference Librarians
(42nd St & Fifth Ave)
First Floor, Room 121
New York, NY 10018
Accessibility for Print Disabilities
For researchers with print disabilities, the Library has resources and services available upon request. The following services are available:
Digitization of Select Research Materials
Researchers who are homebound or have a print disability or visual impairment can explore many of our research collections online and request digitization of specific items of interest. To request the digitization service, email accessibility@nypl.org. Please note that you must be a patron of the Andrew Heiskell Library. This digitization service only includes material belonging to the research collections and does not apply to branch/circulating collections.
Screen Readers and Enlargers
Every public PC at all New York Public Library locations is equipped with JAWS screen reading software and MAGic software for enlarging the screen, changing colors and contrast, and screenreading.
Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library
The Andrew Heiskell Library offers popular reading materials in accessible audio and braille formats, as well as free membership to the Bookshare database of over one million accessible texts. It also offers individual coaching and a large variety of group workshops on topics related to accessible technology. Check the listings on our website, call 212-206-5400, or email talkingbooks@nypl.org
For more information, see the Accessibility at NYPL page.