Handbooks and Journals
Handbook of Black Librarianship by Call Number: Sc D 01-888ISBN: 081083720XPublication Date: 2000-07-12E. J. Josey and Marva DeLoach have compiled a treasure trove of information about black librarianship. This volume includes history, statistics, and documentation of contemporary issues related both to African American participation in librarianship and to the organizations that they built to provide information resources for their people. Of interest to all librarians, bibliophiles, bibliographers, and students of American culture, this handbook fills a niche in American cultural history. Like the first edition, published in 1977, this new edition chronicles the history and achievements of black librarians in their chosen profession. Chapters documenting pioneering individuals and events are juxtaposed with historical descriptions of early professional organizations. Other sections provide important information related to diversity, including the language of diversity and salient statistical facts about African American librarians. New or revised chapters treat issues related to information technology and electronic resources, library services to African Americans, and library education. Of special interest is the section on African American resources, which covers archival and fugitive literature, library holdings, literature, oral history programs, and museums, with several chapters on awards. A complete section is devoted to the important issue of health sciences libraries and blacks. Another new section covers libraries, library education, and publishing in Africa. The final section highlights the role of African Americans in selected areas of the knowledge industry.
African librarianship : a bibliography of periodicals by Call Number: Sc D 88-1518ISBN: 0904020215Publication Date: 1987- African journal of library, archives & information scienceCall Number: Sc Ser.-M .A3794
Relevant Subject Headings
Information science -- Periodicals.
Library science -- Periodicals.
African Americans -- Library resources.
Minorities in library science.
Minority librarians.
Library science -- Africa -- Periodicals.
Information science -- Africa -- Periodicals.
Library and Information Science
Pushing the Margins by
Using intersectionality as a framework, this edited collection explores the experiences of women of color in library and information science (LIS). With roots in black feminism and critical race theory, intersectionality studies the ways in which multiple social and cultural identities impact individual experience. Libraries and archives idealistically portray themselves as egalitarian and neutral entities that provide information equally to everyone, yet these institutions often reflect and perpetuate societal racism, sexism, and additional forms of oppression. Women of color who work in LIS are often placed in the position of balancing the ideal of the library and archive providing good customer service and being an unbiased environment with the lived reality of receiving microaggressions and other forms of harassment on a daily basis from both colleagues and patrons. This book examines how lived experiences of social identities affect women of color and their work in LIS.
Call Number: Sc E 19-732ISBN: 1634000528Publication Date: 2018-06-01
Knowledge Justice by
In Knowledge Justice, Black, Indigenous, and Peoples of Color scholars use critical race theory (CRT) to challenge the foundational principles, values, and assumptions of Library and Information Science and Studies (LIS) in the United States. They propel CRT to center stage in LIS, to push the profession to understand and reckon with how white supremacy affects practices, services, curriculum, spaces, and policies.
Call Number: Sc E 21-1193ISBN: 9780262043502Publication Date: 2021-04-13
Librarians with Spines by
"Librarians with Spines" is an anthology of 9 essays written by 11 radical librarians pushing the boundaries of social justice community service, library and information science, equitable bibliographic taxonomy, and ubiquitous information literacy. Co-edited by Max Macias and Yago Cura, illustrated and designed by Autumn Anglin, and published by HINCHAS Press, this array of minority and queer voices in librarianship and intelligent political art seeks to affirm the importance of innovative, courageous librarians facilitating effective programming and initiatives. Completely funded by a successful GoFundMe campaign and beholden to no organization, committee, nor clique, authors include Jason Alston, Anthony Bishop, Candise Branum, Cathy Camper, A'misa Chiu, Loida Garcia-Febo, kYmberly Keeton, Diane Lopez, Kael Moffat, Mary Rayme, and Aquita Winslow. Topics range from Critlib management to the importance of ethnic caucuses, from zine librarianship to prison librarianship to Hip Hip Information Literacy.
Call Number: Sc E 17-1369ISBN: 0984539883Publication Date: 2017-04-20
Unfinished Business by
"In the wake of the fiftieth anniversary of the Brown v. Board of Education Supreme Court decision, Unfinished Business: Race, Equity, and Diversity in Library and Information Science Education provides evidence that few, if any, library and information science (LIS) programs were ever integrated. With an impressive cast of contributors that includes experienced faculty and students, Unfinished Business tackles the issue of diversity from three distinct perspectives: external and environmental forces, student recruitment, and faculty/curriculum issues." "Unfinished Business points to all of the spokes on the wheel of library and information science education, from racial issues in the financial-aid process to the impact of technology on LIS students of color, and from the recruitment of minority students to faculty development. Beyond showing where LIS programs have fallen short, the contributors to this volume reinvigorate the discourse regarding the future. Unfinished Business is a catalyst for hope and strength in meeting the challenges of fully realizing the promise of the Brown v. Board of Education decision."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: Sc E 05-97ISBN: 0810850451Publication Date: 2004-12-08- Africana Librarianship in the 21st Century by
Using intersectionality as a framework, this edited collection explores the experiences of women of color in library and information science (LIS). With roots in black feminism and critical race theory, intersectionality studies the ways in which multiple social and cultural identities impact individual experience. Libraries and archives idealistically portray themselves as egalitarian and neutral entities that provide information equally to everyone, yet these institutions often reflect and perpetuate societal racism, sexism, and additional forms of oppression. Women of color who work in LIS are often placed in the position of balancing the ideal of the library and archive providing good customer service and being an unbiased environment with the lived reality of receiving microaggressions and other forms of harassment on a daily basis from both colleagues and patrons. This book examines how lived experiences of social identities affect women of color and their work in LIS.
Call Number: Sc F 12-358ISBN: 0941934772Publication Date: 2018-06-01
