Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Industry Information: Current Trade Journals

Research guide to industry information. Guide by Madeleine Cohen.

Current Trade Journals in the New York Public Library

The New York Public Library has collected trade journals for over 100 years. The Journals listed here are still mainly received in print, although many have added online formats. 
Links to the Library's Catalog are included here for each title. Speak with a librarian to verify location and holdings for print or microfilm holidings of specific journals. Note: If a journal is now also published electronically, the journal's weblink is also included.on the right column.          

Library Catalog Links Web Version Links
Agricultural Production  
Floracultura International https://www.floraculture.eu/
Growing for Market https://www.growingformarket.com/
Small Farmer’s Journal  https://smallfarmersjournal.com/
Library Catalog Links  Web version links
Apparel and Accessiories Retail  
Earnshaw’s infants-girls-boys wear review  http://www.earnshaws.com/current-issue/
Furniture today http://www.furnituretoday.com/
Impressions (Dallas) https://www.impressionsmagazine.com/ 
JCK  https://www.jckonline.com/
Jeweller   http://www.naj.co.uk/jeweller-magazine
World Sports Activewear https://sportstextiles.com/WSAEzine.aspx
TM Fashion (German) https://www.textilmitteilungen.de/  
Body http://bodymagazine.us/
Library Catalog Links Web Version Links
Automotive  
Automotive News http://www.autonews.com/
Tire Business http://www.tirebusiness.com/section/digital
Underhood Service http://www.underhoodservice.com/
Library Catalog Links Web Version Links
Building Materials and Construction  
Builder (Washington, D.C.)  https://www.builderonline.com/magazine/
Glass magazine https://glassmagazine.com/
Library Catalog Links Web Version Links
Food and Kindred Manufacturing/ Wholesale  
Candy Industry https://www.candyindustry.com/publications/3
Frozen Food Digest   
Manufacturing Confectioner http://www.gomc.com/
Milling and Baking News http://digitalmbn.bakingbusiness.com/sosland/mbn/2018_10_23/index.php#/0
National Provisioner   https://www.provisioneronline.com/
The Packer (Kansas City) https://www.thepacker.com/newspaper
Prepared Foods  https://www.preparedfoods.com/publications/3
Snack Food & Wholesale Bakery https://www.snackandbakery.com/
Tea & Coffee Trade Journal  https://www.teaandcoffee.net/about/
Library Catalog Links Web Version Links
Food / Eating / Drinking Retail  
Cooking for Profit   May have ceased publication
Fresh Cup https://www.freshcup.com/
Gourmet News  http://www.gourmetnews.com/
Nation’s Restaurant News  (NYPL has microfilm for 1974-2007)  https://www.nrn.com/  
Natural Foods merchandiser   
Restaurant Business  https://www.restaurantbusinessonline.com/
Restaurant Hospitality  https://www.restaurant-hospitality.com/
Wine Business Monthly https://www.winebusiness.com/wbm/
Wines & Vines https://www.winesandvines.com/
Library Catalog Links Web Version Links
General Merchandise and Misc. Retail  
Giftware News  http://giftwarenews.com/new/
Mass Market Retailers  https://www.massmarketretailers.com/
Petfood Industry https://www.petfoodindustry.com/
Retail Merchandiser http://www.retail-merchandiser.com/
Souvenirs Gifts & Novelties https://sgnmag.com/
Sporting Goods Business https://sgbonline.com/sgb-magazine/
Stores  https://stores.org  
VisionMonday http://www.visionmonday.com/
Library Catalog Links Web Version Links
Home furnishings Retail  
Bed Times  https://bedtimesmagazine.com/
Floor Covering News https://fcnews.net/
Floor focus      https://www.floordaily.net/floorfocus
HFN  http://www.hfndigital.com/
Home Furnishings Business http://hfbusiness.com/
LDB Interior Textiles  http://ldbinteriortextiles.com/
Library Catalog Links Web Version Links
Nonstore Retail  
HomeWorld Business https://www.homeworldbusiness.com/
Vending Times   https://www.vendingtimes.com/
Library Catalog Links Web Version Links
Personal Services  
American Drycleaner    https://americandrycleaner.com/
American Salon    https://www.americansalon.com/
Library Catalog Links Web Version Links
Business Services etc.  
Cleaner Times  https://www.cleanertimes.com/
Computer Business Week  
Federal Computer Week https://fcw.com/Home.aspx
Healthcare Distributor  http://www.elfpublications.com/
Independent Publisher http://independentpublisher.com/ 
License! Global    https://www.licenseglobal.com/
Meetings & Conventions http://www.meetings-conventions.com/magazine/
Packaging World   https://www.packworld.com/
Street & Smith Sports Business Journal  https://www.sportsbusinessdaily.com/Journal.aspx
Successful Meetings http://www.successfulmeetings.com/
   
Library Catalog Links Web Version Links
Real Estate  
New York Real Estate Journal  http://nyrej.com/
Real Estate Weekly  https://rew-online.com/
Library Catalog Links Web Version Links
Amusements and Recreation  
Destinations by JAX FAX  http://www.jaxfaxmagazine.com/
Tourist Attractions & Parks   http://tapmag.com/
Library Catalog Links Web Version Links
Transportation and Warehousing  
American Shipper  https://www.americanshipper.com/
Continuity Insights   https://continuityinsights.com/
Inside Self-Storage  https://www.insideselfstorage.com/
Logistics management   https://www.logisticsmgmt.com/
Mini Storage Messenger   https://www.ministoragemessenger.com/
Library Catalog Links Web Version Links
Waste Management and Recycling  
RecyclingToday   https://www.recyclingtoday.com/
Resource Recycling    https://resource-recycling.com/

 

Tips for searching

Many trade journals also now appear in Library databases where they are indexed and searchable. 
Be sure to check in the Classic Catalog for titles and locations of holdings, and to find other journals.  

The trade journal collection at NYPL has been developed over many years through the efforts of librarians, most recently by former librarians John Balow and John Ganly.