Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Artists' Books Collection (ABC) at NYPL: About

Welcome! This guide will provide an overview about how to find Artists' Books in the Wallach Division of Art, Prints & Photographs

Introduction

undefinedThe Artists’ Books Collection (ABC) of the New York Public Library is one of the largest and most important collections in the country. To date, the collection holds more than 8,500 items. The majority of the Library’s holdings of artists’ books are concentrated in the Print Collection, which holds the best examples of this unique genre.

Following the ethos that inspired Edward Ruscha, Warja Lavater and Dieter Roth, the Artists’ Books Collection has focused on the self-published and small-edition materials. Largely democratic in spirit, if not in form, artists’ books are now appreciated as a significant vehicle of artistic expression. Today the Collection comprises works from early examples to the present and is truly global in scope, with artists' books from all seven continents.

Image: Walls Paper by Gordon Matta-Clark. MEMZ (Matta-Clark) 18-1629. Photographed by Christian Erroi.
 

Reference Librarians

Print Collection Reference Librarians's picture
Print Collection Reference Librarians
Contact:
476 Fifth Avenue (42nd St and Fifth Ave)
Third Floor , Room 308
New York, NY 10018
(212) 930-0817
Website
Subjects:Art