Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Jazz Resources in the Music & Recorded Sound Division...and Beyond: About

Circulating, non-circulating, and online resources related to jazz. Created by Jessica Wood, Assistant Curator of Music & Recorded Sound

How to navigate this guide

This guide provides an overview of the jazz-related resources offered by the Music & Recorded Sound Division at the Library for the Performing Arts. It is organized by format and availability:

  1. Electronic resources with remote access. This page includes monographs, serials, and recordings that can be accessed from home with a NYPL library card.
  2. Digital collections with remote access. This page includes collections of primary source materials specific either to NYPL or another institution.
  3. Circulating books and media. This page includes books and audiovisual media that can be checked out from a NYPL branch location. **Please note that physical items are inaccessible during the library's closure.
  4. Non-circulating books, recordings, and periodicals. This page includes materials from the research collection of the Music & Recorded Sound Division. **Please note that these items are inaccessible during the library's closure.
  5. Archival collections. This page includes collections of primary source material accessible for supervised consultation in the Special Collections Reading Room. **Please note that these items are inaccessible during the library's closure.

For more details about any materials mentioned on this site, or about how to access them, feel free to email us at music@nypl.org or recordedsound@nypl.org.

Happy exploring!

Stuff Smith performing at the Randall's Island Jazz Festival

(Above) Stuff Smith performing at the Carnival of Swing, Randall's Island Stadium, 29 May 1938. From the Otto Hess Photographs.

Reference Librarians

Music Division & Recorded Sound Reference Librarians's picture
Music Division & Recorded Sound Reference Librarians
Contact:
40 Lincoln Center Plaza (65th St and Columbus Ave)
Third Floor
New York, NY 10023
(212) 870-1625
Website