Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women in Music at the Library for the Performing Arts & Beyond: Performers

A guide to resources in the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts and other resources.

Archival Audiovisual Collections

Lewis Archibald collection of recorded interviews.

Interviews of actors and performers collected by Lewis Archibald, a journalist who wrote for the magazine 'Downtown.' Women performers interviewed include: Maude Adams, Ingrid Bergman, Judy Davis, Sally Field, Glenda Jackson, Gilda Radner, Vanessa Redgrave, and Jessica Tandy.

Clara Bow with family, 1951, 1955 [sound recording] : Clara Bow with family, 1956, 1957, Christmas.

Clara Bow at home with family and friends in the 1950's; principally poetry and dramatic excerpts.

Buckley-Hayton collection of sound recordings of Lennie Hayton and Lena Horne,1941-1951.

Includes many recordings that Lena Horne recorded both for MGM and for other projects, such as radio broadcasts and test pressings.

Kirsten Flagstad collection of noncommercial recordings,1935-1960.

These tapes constitute a large portion of the noncommercial recordings collected by Flagstad of her own performances and interviews. Recordings originating from Norway include Flagstad's farewell concert of December 12, 1953, and fourteen tapes recorded privately at the Norwegian Broadcast Service in 1954 and 1958 featuring songs by Norwegian composers.

Marian McPartland's piano jazz series.

Weekly radio program in which host Marian McPartland interviews guest musicians, usually famous jazz pianists, about their careers and music. 

Rosa Ponselle collection of performances, recorded interviews, and films, 1926-1987.

The collection contains commercial and noncommercial sound recordings and noncommercial films and videos collected by Rosa Ponselle from 1926 to 1981, covering her career and retirement; recordings of memorial tributes to Ponselle were added to the collection from 1982 to 1987.

Ruth Rubin Collection of Yiddish folksong and folklore,1947-1966.

Ruth Rubin was a folklorist and a noted performer of Yiddish folksong. Her performances in New York included recitals at Carnegie Hall and at Town Hall. She was born in Montreal in 1906. These noncommercial recordings were collected by Ruth Rubin and consist primarily of field recordings of Yiddish folksong and folklore that she made in New York City and Montreal. She classifies this material into children's songs, drinking songs, folklore, love songs, poverty songs, and other categories. The collection also contains many folksong performances by Rubin herself, radio programs featuring Yiddish folksong, as well as several of her lectures and interviews.

Arthur Unger collection of recorded interviews.

Interviews with television, film, and stage performers from 1965 through 1998 for use in conjunction with Unger's article writing activities. Women interviewed include Alfre Woodard, Bette Davis, Connie Chung,   Glenda Jackson, Helen Hayes, Lucille Ball, Katharine Hepburn, and others. 

Yoko Ono interview with Stephanie T. DePue 

Yoko Ono discusses the status of women and race relations in the United States, as well as (briefly) her work in film and as a musician.

The Yoko Ono interview 

Yoko Ono Lennon talks about her life as an artist and Bohemian house-mother in New York during the early '60s. Her discussion touches on conceptual art, "acting out therapy," the loft concerts she helped organize, and discrimination against the female artist.

Archival Paper Collections

Éva Gauthier papers, 1899-1960.

Éva Gauthier (1885-1958) was a Canadian-American vocalist best known for her contemporary music performances and her associations with George Gershwin and Igor Stravinsky. The Éva Gauthier papers, dating from 1899 to 1960, document the singer's life and career through correspondence, photographs, writings, programs, publicity material, business and legal records, and clippings.

Marilyn Horne collection of scores, 1844-2013.

Marilyn Berneice "Jackie" Horne (b. 1934) is one of America's most famous operatic mezzo-sopranos. The Marilyn Horne Score Collection contains scores used during her career as a versatile performer and teacher. The collection also holds some memorabilia, such as autographed materials, and correspondence.

Auguste Kolar papers, ca. 1858-1902.

Scrapbook of concert programs and clippings of reviews, 1858-1874; letters, chiefly between Auguste Kolar and Heinrich Auspitz, 1865-1866, bound in 2 volumes; about 225 photographs (mostly unlabeled, the last dated 1902) in 2 scrapbooks; small scrapbook of pressed leaves from the graves of composers and poets; small scrapbook of "Erinnerung" 1863-1872; literary works by Auguste Kolar including 2 volumes of poetry, a long prose poem, a play, and "Vom Klavierspielen"; book of poems by Gustav Schlicht; Auguste Kolar's copy (probably in her hand) of "Die Lehre von der Melodie," by Josef Proksch.

Susannah McCorkle papers, 1946-2001.

Susannah McCorkle (1946-2001) was an important American jazz / pop singer as well as a talented writer. Her papers consist of her writings, correspondence, business and personal papers, scores, concert programs, clippings, publicity material, photographs and books.

Rosa Ponselle papers, ca. 1911-1981

The Rosa Ponselle Papers document the career of one of the most noted 20th century American soprano opera singers, and covers her beginnings in vaudeville, her Metropolitan Opera career (1918-1937), her teaching activities, her administrative involvement with musical life in Baltimore, and her retirement. Also included is material concerning her sister Carmela Ponselle (1892-1977).

Regina Resnik papers,1934-2013.

Regina Resnik (1922-2013) was an American soprano and mezzo-soprano vocalist and opera director. The Regina Resnik papers, dating from 1934 to 2013, document Resnik's life and career through correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks, programs, clippings, annotated scores, fan club magazines, awards, posters, yearbooks, school files, art, and artifacts.  

Teresa Sterne Papers, 1913-1979

Teresa Sterne, a pioneering producer of classical music recordings, was director of Nonesuch Records from 1965 to 1979. The Papers include material related to Sterne's tenure in charge of Nonesuch Records, as well as her childhood career as a performing pianist. The bulk of the material dates from 1969-1979, and includes production files, clippings, photographs, scrapbooks and scores.

Teresa Stratas papers, 1938 - 2016.

Teresa Stratas is a Canadian-born American soprano regarded as one of the greatest and most expressive opera actresses of all time. Her papers, dating from 1938 to 2016, document her life and career through letters, photographs, annotated scores, subject files, posters, programs, clippings, datebooks, costume and set designs, awards, and art.